Kothrud: Drunk youth attacks former MLA Medha Kulkarni

Medha Kulkarni
Share this News:

Pune, June 7, 2020: Former Kothrud MLA Medha Kulkarni has been injured in an altercation with drunk youths near the entrance of the society. The incident took place in Kothrud area on Saturday evening. A case has been registered at Kothrud police station and the two youths have been arrested based on a complaint from a woman.


According to police, some youths were sitting at the entrance of Sahajanand Society in Kothrud on Saturday around 5.30 pm. The complainant woman’s father-in-law had taking out their pet dog when he saw the youths near the society gate. He told the group not to sit there. However, the youths started an argument with him and when he left from there, they chased him. Some local youths tried to intervene but the drunkards thrashed them. When the complainant woman went there, the accused pushed her.


Hearing the commotion, former MLA Medha Kulkarni and other members of the society also reached the spot. But the drunk youths were not ready to go from there. One of them threatened them and Kulkarni sustained minor injuries in the scuffle. Based on a complaint from the woman, an FIR was registered against Amar Bansode, Vinod Gande, Tejas Kamble and Mithun Hargude for assault and molestation. Police have arrested two of the four accused.


Speaking on the occasion, Medha Kulkarni alleged that police have no control over the criminals in the Kothrud area. Incidents like fights, vandalism of vehicles due to minor reasons have become commonplace in this area. Even in today’s incident, the police could not do anything while the accused fled. The youth was threatening in obscene language while standing in front of the police. It was clear that they had no fear. She also demanded that Home Minister Anil Deshmukh should pay attention to maintain law and order.


Medha Kulkarni was elected on a BJP ticket in the 2014 Assembly elections. Incumbent MLA and BJP state president Chandrakant Patil had replaced her during the last year’s Assembly elections.