19th Ramesh Desai Memorial under 16 Junior Tennis Nationals at Kolhapur from May 18

Share this News:

Kolhapur , May 17, 2024: Prateek Sheoran of Haryana and Divya Ramesh of TamilNadu will lead players from 20 states in the 19 th Ramesh Desai Memorial Nationals Junior Tennis Championships for Boys and Girls under 16 Over 250 Boys and Girls from all over the country will be seen in action at the tournament hosted by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) and the Kolhapur District Lawn tennis Association KDLTA at the KDLTA Tennis complex in Kolhapur from May 18 – 25, 2024.

The Hon Secretary Mr. Sunder Iyer said a total scholarship of Rs 3 lakhs will be awarded as scholarships to players from the first round apart from attractive prizes and gifts. The tournament which is an annual affair is being organized to commemorate the memory of former secretary general of AITA and the former Hon. Secretary of MSLTA of Ramesh Desai.The tournament will serve as an ideal memorial for Ramesh Desai and his values of promoting tennis at a junior level, he added.

While the Boys 16 main draw will be of 64, the Girls under 12 Main draws will be of 48, added Mr. Iyer. , The Qualifying rounds will be held on May 18 and May 19 , while the main draws will start from Monday May 20 , ITF White badge official Mrs Vaishali Kannamwar has been appointed as the Supervisor for the event, informed Mr Meghan Bagawde, Secretary of KDLTA , MSLTA Jt Secretary Sheetal Bhosale has been appointed as the Tournament Director of the event by MSLTA .

KDLTA has undertaken a complete revamp of the existing facilities, and developed New Toilet Blocks , Changing rooms, Players Lounges, and upgraded Tennis facilities, this has been possible due to the involvement of all the Members of KDLTA , Said Mr.Dilip Mohite, Chairman Tournament Committee.

An organising Committee comprising of Dilip Mohite, Chairman tournament Committee, Anna Ghatge, Anand Shah Tresurer KDLTA, Mahendra Parmar, Dr.Dinesh Kittur, , SS Momin and Aashish Shah has worked around the clock to ensure best facilities and tennis experience for players coming from across the country

We want to make this a memorable tournament for young tennis players and will also give them experience of Kolhapur Tradition and culture during the week.

Following are the seedings : Boys
1.Prateek Sheoran(Har), 2.Rishi Yadav(UP), 3.Hruthik Katakam(TS),4.Harsh Malik(Har), 5.Kanishk Khathuria(MP), 6.Pratyush Loganathan(TN), 7.Aditya Acharya(Odisha), 8.Prakaash Sarran(Kar)

1.Divya Ramesh(TN), 2.Rishita Reddy Basireddy(TS), 3.Prisha Shinde(Mah), 4.Sherry Sharma(Har), 5.Anandita Upadhyay(Har), 6.Shaivi Dalal(Guj), 7.Ranjhana Sangram(Punjab), 8.Nainika Reddy Bendram(Mah)