45th All India Police Science Congress

Share this News:

            The Bureau of Police Research and Development (BPR&D) and Kerala Police are jointly organizing the 45th All India Police Science Congress at Kovalam, Thiruvananthapuram on December 8-9, 2016. The main objective of this prestigious national event is to provide a common platform to the various police forces/units, social scientists, forensic experts and other stakeholders to deliberate on selected themes of topical interest to the Indian Police. It will also provide an opportunity to learn from each other’s experience by understanding the best practices being followed in other States/UTs. The deliberations of All India Police Science Congress will provide a future roadmap for all the police forces/services of  the country to provide quality service to the people.

The First All India Police Science Congress was held in 1960 at Patna, Bihar. Since then it has been held 44 times. This year the following themes have been identified for discussions and deliberations:-

  1. Use of Technology for Better Investigation
  2. Counter Terrorism and De-radicalization
  3. Use of Appropriate Non-lethal Measures for Crowd Control
  4. Traffic Management to Reduce Fatalities in Road Accidents

This would be followed by Open House discussion in which ideas from the states and new challenges would be discussed and recommendations of the Congress shall be finalized.

The Police Science Congress shall be inaugurated by the Chief Minister of Kerala, Shri Pinarayi Vijayan on December 8, 2016. Governor of Kerala, Shri Justice (Retd.) P. Sathasivam will deliver the valedictory address on December 9, 2016. The delegates from Police Departments of States and UTs, Central Police Organizations, Central Armed Police Forces and Forensic Science Laboratories shall attend the Police Science Congress.

The Police Science Congress shall be addressed by the Senior Police Officers, Academicians, Scientists and Subject Experts from institutions like IITs, Department of Science and Technology, DRDO, Forensic Science Laboratories and other Research Institutions etc.