Asian Games Gold Medalist Rutuja Bhosale, Arjun Kadhe to Lead Maharashtra Tennis Teams for Goa National Games

Share this News:

Mumbai 25 Oct 2023 – Asian Games Mixed Doubles Gold Medalist Rutuja Bhosale and International tennis star Arjun Kadhe will lead a strong Maharashtra women’s and mens tennis teams, respectively, for the upcoming National Games to be held at the Fatorda Sports Complex Tennis Complex at Margao in Goa from October 30th to November 5th, 2023.

“We are fielding a team that combines youth and experience, with the aim of building a strong Maharashtra team for the present and future,” said Sunder Iyer, Honorary Secretary of the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA). Maharashtra emerged the team with the highest medals in Gujarat last year.

The Maharashtra teams will participate in all seven tennis events at the National Games, including men’s and women’s team events, men’s and women’s singles and doubles, and the mixed doubles event.

“In the last National Games held in Gujarat, the Maharashtra team won three gold, two silver, and one bronze medal, topping the medal tally. We would like to better that performance this year,” Iyer added.

The strong men’s team, captained by Kadhe, includes former Davis Cupper Purav Raja, Atharva Sharma, Siddhant Banthia, and Anup Bangargi. The women’s team, led by Bhosale, comprises former Olympian and doubles specialist Prarthana Thombare, BRICS games Bronze Medalist Vaishnavi Adkar, Akanksha Nitture, and Vasanti Shinde.

Mr. Anvit Bendre of Pune has been appointed as the men’s coach, while Mr. Kedar Shah of Pune will coach the women’s team. Mr. Himanshu Gosawi from Pune will accompany the team as the manager, and Ms. Apurva Kulkarni will travel as the team physiotherapist.

Men’s Team:

· Arjun Kadhe (Captain)

· Purav Raja

· Atharva Sharma

· Siddhant Banthia

· Anup Bangargi

Coach: Mr. Anvit Bendre

Women’s Team:

· Rutuja Bhosale (Captain)

· Prarthana Thombare

· Vaishnavi Adkar

· Akanksha Nitture

· Vasanti Shinde

Coach: Mr. Kedar Shah

Manager: Mr. Himanshu Gosawi

Team Physiotherapist: Ms. Apurva Kulkarni