Double crown for Karthika, Varad wins boys title at Endurance – MSLTA Asian under 14 Tennis Championship

Share this News:

Aurangabad, January 19, 2024: Kartika Padmakumar of Karnataka and Varad Undre of Maharashtra won the girls and the boys singles title at the Endurance – MSLTA Asian under 14 Tennis Championship which is being organised by MSLTA and Endurance under the Auspices of the Asian Tennis Federation (ATF) , All India Tennis Association (AITA) and the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) at the Endurance Tennis complex at Aurangabad

In the Boys final Varad a 7th standard student of Dnyandip English Medium School Pune upset top seeded Shounak Suvarna 7-5, 6-1 to win the title

In the girls section 7th standard student of Gear International school, Bengaluru Karthika Padmakumar won a memorable double crown in the singles she upset top seed Aahan A. 6-0, 6-3

She later tied up with A. Aahan A to register a 6-2,6-1 win over Shibani Gupte and Vrandika Rajput to win the doubles title

The winner got a trophy, 300 ATF points, while the runner up received a trophy and 250 ATF Points.

The prizes were given away at the hands of Lt. Colonel SJS Dhillon ,.Army corps of Engineers. Mr. Abhinav Mishra from Endurance, Mrs. Vaishali Shekatkar Tournament supervisor, Ashutosh Mishra Centre Head, Pravin Prasad Head Coach, Pravin Gaisamudre, Radheshyam Atpale, Shankar Labade and in presence of Physiotherapists and umpires officials were present on the occasion.

Results: final Round: Boys;
Varad Undre (IND) [5] bt Shounak Suvarna (IND) [1] 7-5, 6-1;

Girls: Karthika Padmakumar (IND) [4] bt Aahan A. (IND) [1] 6-0, 6-3;

Doubles: Boys: Semifinal Round:
Ishaan Badagi (IND) [2] /Ishaan Sudharshan (USA) bt Smit Undre (IND) /Varad Undre (IND) 7-6(4), 6-4;
Shounak Suvarna (IND) /Ishaan Yadlapalli (IND) [1] bt Armaan Dua (IND) /Manan Rai(IND) [4] 6-2, 6-3;
Final Round: Shounak Suvarna (IND) /Ishaan Yadlapalli (IND) [1] vs Ishaan Badagi (IND) [2] /Ishaan Sudharshan (USA)6-3, 7-6(2);

Aahan A. (IND) /Karthika Padmakumar (IND) [1] bt Samyuktha Krishnan (IND) /Deepthi Venkatesan(IND) [4] 6-0, 6-0;
Shibani Gupte (IND) [2] /Vrandika Rajput(IND) bt Shreeniti Chowdhury (IND) [3] /Jahnavi Tammineedi (IND) 6-3, 2-6, 10-5.
Final Round:Aahan A. (IND) /Karthika Padmakumar (IND) [1] bt Shibani Gupte (IND) [2] /Vrandika Rajput(IND)6-2, 6-1.