Fadnavis resigns as Maharashtra CM, Ajit Pawar also resigned

Share this News:

Mumbai, November 26, 2019: BJP leader Devendra Fadnavis, who was the Chief Minister of Maharashtra for 80 hours, has submitted his resignation to the Governor.

He announced his resignation at a press conference shortly before. After that he rushed straight to the Raj Bhavan to submit the resignation letter.

Earlier Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar submitted his resignation to Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis. After this, there was no option but to resign before Fadnavis.

The politics of Maharashtra has taken a 360-degree turn once again on Tuesday. With this, the political situation of Maharashtra has again returned to earlier situation as it was three days ago, when the NCP-Shiv Sena-Congress coalition was struggling to form a government.

Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar submitted his resignation to Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis on Tuesday afternoon. Shortly after this, Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis also announced his resignation after holding a press conference. After finishing the press conference, he arrived at about four in the evening to submit his resignation to the Governor. With this, Karnataka’s political history of one year back is being repeated in Maharashtra.

Discussions about the resignation of Fadnavis had also started as soon as the news of Ajit Pawar’s resignation came out. In fact, after the Supreme Court ordered a floor test through live telecast on Wednesday, the BJP had no way left. Fadnavis openly admitted at the press conference that he does not have a majority.

Shortly after Ajit’s resignation, Fadnavis announced to address press conference at 3:30 pm. At the same time there was a discussion that Fadnavis could announce his resignation during the press conference.

It is known that shortly before Ajit Pawar’s resignation, Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP Working President JP Nadda had an important meeting on Maharashtra. It is believed that the decision to resign the Chief Minister and Deputy Chief Minister was taken in this meeting.

It may be known that the Supreme Court today ordered a floor test while hearing the petition of NCP-Shiv Sena-Congress. The leaders of the ‘Mahavikas Aghadi’ of the NCP-Shiv Sena-Congress alliance had been claiming from the beginning that the BJP did not have the required majority figure to form the government in the state. Legislators were paraded in front of the media on Tuesday evening at Hotel Hyatt in Mumbai on behalf of the coalition to bolster their claim against it.

In Maharashtra, the political drama which has been running for more than a month reached its peak on Saturday. At eight o’clock in the morning, the Governor removed President rule and appointed Devendra Fadnavis as Chief Minister and NCP’s Ajit Pawar as Deputy Chief Minister. After that ‘Mahavikas Aghadi’ challenged the Governor’s decision and the new government of Maharashtra in the Supreme Court, demanding a floor test at the earliest.

In the parade of MLAs organized by the NCP-Shiv Sena-Congress on Tuesday evening, it was claimed that they have the support of more than 162 MLAs. During this parade, the NCP MLAs also appeared in the hotel, who were seen at the Raj Bhavan during the swearing-in on Saturday morning.

These MLAs shocked everyone by saying in front of the media that they had no information about the oath taking. Ajit Pawar was the leader of the Legislative Party at that time, when he called them and took them to the Raj Bhavan following the instructions of his leader.

In the Raj Bhavan, those people were also surprised to see Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar taking oath. Not only this, these MLAs also told the media that they had made a mistake.

After this it became almost impossible for Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar to prove their majority in the Assembly on Wednesday. Since then, there were speculations that, like Karnataka, the BJP Chief Minister may resign before the floor test.

Who will be the next chief minister

Amidst the discussions of Ajit Pawar’s resignation and the resignation of Fadnavis, discussions have now intensified for the next Chief Minister in Maharashtra.

Shiv Sena leader Sanjay Raut has given a statement in front of the media that Uddhav Thackeray will be the new Chief Minister of the state. It is known that Mahavikas Aghadi had decided to form a government in the state on Friday evening, a day before Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar were sworn in on Saturday.

The Mahavikas Aghadi coalition was scheduled to announce it on Saturday at a press conference. Even before this, Fadnavis and Ajit Pawar took oath and scuttled intentions of the alliance.

According to the formula set by the alliance and Sanjay Raut’s claim after Ajit Pawar’s resignation, Uddhav Thackeray will remain the Chief Minister of the state for five years. There will be one Deputy Chief Minister each from NCP and Congress. However, there is no official announcement of this formula so far.