Income Tax, PCMC Academy log easy wins in openers

Share this News:

Pune, 26 June, 2023: Income Tax, Pune and PCMC Academy got off to winning starts with easy wins over their respective opponents on the opening day of the Bharat Ratna Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Hockey Tournament 2023, at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar, Pimpri on Monday.

The day began with Income Tax getting the better of Hockey Lovers Academy 5-0. After a goalless first quarter, Income Tax opened through Nitin Nandandori (18th) and went on to quickly add two more via Ashutosh Lingesh (20th) and Atharva Kamble (28th) off field goals to end the first half 3-0.

Sitting in the driver’s-seat, Income Tax returned to add the fourth goal when Atharva (37th) contributed his second before former India international Ajitesh Roy (57th) capped off the final scoreline 5-0.

Later, PCMC Academy rode on a brace of goals by Ajinkya Naiknaware to overcome Friends Union 4-1. PCMC Academy opened their account through Rutik Kamble (26th) and doubled the advantage when Sourabh Patil (30th) converted a penalty-corner. At half-time PCMC Academy led 2-0.

After the break, PCMC made it 3-0 when Ajinkya Naiknaware (44th) scored. Friends Union pushed themselves to get on the scoreboard and gained success after Aftab Shaikh (52th) sounded the board. However, PCMC Academy had the last say when Ajinkya (54th) completed the 4-1 win.

Earlier, the tournament was declared open by Mahendra Nikalje, President Dr. Babasaheb Ambedkar Tournament Committee and former player of Chikhalwadi Young Boys in the presence of Mrs. Deepa Nikhalje and Sunil Ranpise, Vice President of the tournament committee.


Income Tax Pune: 5 (Nikhil Nandandori 18th; Ashutosh Lingesh 20th; Atharva Kamble 28th, 37th; Ajitesh Roy 57th) bt Hockey Lovers Academy: 0. HT: 3-0

PCMC Academy: 4 (Rutik Kamble 26th; Sourabh Patil 30th – p.c; Ajinkya Naiknaware 44th, 54th) bt Friends Union: 1 (Aftab Shaikh 52th). HT:


Excellency Hockey Academy v Railway Police Line Boys – 1.30 pm; Khadki Hockey Academy v Hockey Lovers Sports Club – 3.00 pm.