Share this News:

An enthralling passing out parade was held on the parade ground of   INS Shivaji, Lonavala on 2nd Jan 2016 to mark the culmination of 79 weeks of professional training for the officers of the 80th Marine Engineering Specialisation Course. Vice Admiral AV Subhedar, AVSM , VSM, Chief of Materiel reviewed the passing out parade. He complimented the officers for their “immaculate turnout and excellent drill”. The Admiral also complimented the instructors and staff of INS Shivaji for their dedication and commitment in nurturing future leaders and Marine Engineers.

Marine Engineering Specialisation Course is conducted at the Centre of Marine Engineering Technology (CMET) of INS Shivaji for all Marine Engineer officers of Indian Navy, Indian Coast Guard and friendly foreign navies. A total of 32 officers comprising 30 officers from Indian Navy,       02 officers from Indian Coast Guard passed out from the portals of         INS Shivaji. A valedictory function was also held on this occasion.          Vice Admiral AV Subhedar delivered the valedictory address, distributed awards and certificates to the officers of the passing out course. The Admiral who is himself an alumnus of the establishment encouraged future technical leaders of Indian Navy to imbibe a sustained learning attitude and to strive for professional excellence.

INS Shivaji is the premier technical training establishment of Indian Navy which imparts specialised training on Marine Engineering to the officers and sailors of Indian Navy, Indian Coast Guard and friendly    foreign Navies. Presently, the establishment is commanded by              Commodore Harish Batra.

Captain Sumeet V Shidore, Officer-in-Charge of CMET mentioned that the performance of the passing out course was outstanding and during their training phase, the officers were exposed to various capsule courses at different training establishments of Indian Navy to ensure an all round development of the officers.

SLt Siddharth Naithani was adjudged the ‘Best All Round Officer’ of the passing out course and was awarded ‘The Hammer’ for excelling in academics, sports and extracurricular activities. SLt Tanuj Kaushik won the CNS Rolling Trophy for standing first in overall order of merit and SLt Siddharth Naithani was also awarded a book prize for standing second in overall order of merit. In addition, A/C Ashmit Khaneja was awarded the DGCG Rolling Trophy for best Coast Guard officer.