Institute of Technology Nirma University wins National Robocon 2018 , To represent India at Vietnam 

just pune things app
Share this News:

Pune 3 March 2018 : Institute of Technology Nirma University won the ABU National Robocon 2018 hosted by Doordarshan and MIT Academy of Engineering at Balewadi Sports Complex. They defeated MIT Pune in the finals . Nirma will now represent India at the International Robocon 2018 to be held in Vietnam in August.

The Valedictory function was held in presence of Prof. Dr VD Karad , Founder President MIT WPU , Dr Sunil Karad Executive Director MIT Group of Institutes , MS Thomas ADG Doordarshan , Prashant Rao , Manager Application Engineering Group Mathwork , Nakamura Daisuke MD ROHM , Nachiket Joshi Additional General Manager Janatics India Pvt Ltd , Prof Anant Chakradeo Dean MITID , Dr Yogesh Bhalerao Director MIT Academy of Engineering Alandi.

The teams which entered quarter finals included VIT Pune , KJ Somaiya Institute of Engineering Mumbai , Nirma Institute of Technology , VJTI Mumbai , COEP , MIT Pune , LD COE , IIT Roorkee out of which KJ Somaiya Institute , Nirma University , VJTI and MIT COE entered the semi finals . The most crucial match was between last year’s finalists MIT and COEP which was won by MIT.

In the Semi Finals three time champions MIT (58 points ) defeated KJ Somaiya Institute Mumbai ( 27 points ) while in the second semi finals Nirma University (59) defeated VJTI (13) .

But it was a power packed and swift performance by Nirma University in the finals that saw them through with 59 points defeating MIT who scored 27 points .

The awards included ROHM Innovation award for KJ Somaiya Institute of Engineering Mumbai . Mathwork Awards trophy was given to
UV Patel COE (1st), Government COE Aurangabad (2nd ) , Veer Surendra Sai University of Technology(3rd) and Government College of Engineering Amravat(3rd) and special Mathwork prize for National Institute of Technology Karnataka . The best idea award went to LD COE Ahmedabad, best manual operator for VJTI Mumbai , best Aesthetic robot for COEP , best innovative design for IIT Roorkie and fastest job completing Robot to Nirma University . The best shuttlecock design award went to Rustom College of Engineering Gwalior and the best Rookie award was given to Neotech Institute of Technology Vadodara . The winners Nirma University bagged the Prof Balkrishna Saha Award. Prof. Dr Vishwanath Karad Award for first prize includes gold medal , citation and One lakh rupees cash prize and was given to Nirma ,while the silver medal, citation and a cash prize of 50000 Rupees for runners up MIT Pune. The second runner up award was given to KJ Somaiya Institute . The award for smart and easy robot was given to Government COE Awasari.

Prof . Dr VD Karad said that only two teams in 2002 to 107 teams in 2018 is a big achievement and we thank the Asia Pacific Broadcasting Union for taking the lead. Robocon has given us a good platform . Students will have an opportunity to go to any sector of choice, and while doing so knowledge of robotics will have additional weightage . With creative minds and ideas and with proper techniques hitting the target is a wonderful way of learning. As youngster of India who are the makers of India .

Prashant Rao Manager Application Group Math Works said that with Robocon you are gaining skills that you are going to use later on in your career .

MS Thomas ADG Doordarshan Robocon promotes the spirit of team building .