IPL 2020 Updates and Other Important Details that Fans Need to Know

Share this News:

The Indian Premier League or the IPL has surely come a long way since it began in the year 2008. It is one of the most followed sporting events worldwide. It’s the most-attended cricket league and it’s even the first sports event that YouTube broadcasted live in 2010.

The IPL is an annual sporting event and this year, it is now on its 13th edition. Eight teams are set to be included in this year’s matches and finally, more details were revealed about this year’s IPL edition.

Surely, many fans are waiting for this year’s IPL and the release of these details can help them plan out their own schedules once the league finally begins. 

Now, even if the matches are not yet revealed, the betting industry is already preparing for this. Even the punters are already thinking of their strategies this year. Whether they plan on participating in IPL betting from 10CRIC India or other sites, it’s a guarantee that they are already thinking about this. 

This year’s IPL is set to happen at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai. It will begin on March 29 and is set to end on May 24. This means that this year’s IPL has a 57-day window for all the matches. This also means that double-headers are unlikely to happen and may now even be a thing of the past.

Sources did point that many changes may happen for this season and all those are mainly based on how the past seasons came out to be. The said changes are mainly about the schedule of the matches, like what time the matches will start. 

There really is no official schedule that is already released but it’s most likely that the matches will start at 7:30 PM both weekdays and weekends. This actually stirs a bit of an issue to many fans and franchises. 

The source said, “While the full schedule isn’t ready yet, the final is set to be played on May 24 and with the tournament starting on March 29, you obviously get a longer window than say 45 days. So, there should be no issue in accommodating one game a day. In fact, it should be a walk in the park for those chalking out how matches will be played over 57 days.”

Regarding the time change, here’s what the source said, “See, TRP is an issue for sure, but let us not just put it on that as you can for yourself go back and see how late the games finished last season.” 

On this issue, the source added, “Even for those coming into the stadium, it was quite an issue going back home after the game. While it is being discussed, it still looks like we may start at 7:30 PM this edition onwards.”

The source also explained, “If you are living in a metro, you do know the kind of traffic issues there, like in Delhi, Mumbai or Bengaluru. Do you seriously believe that it is possible for people to leave the office at around 6 PM and then come into the stadium with their families by the time the game gets underway? This is an area that needs to be taken into consideration before changing the timing of the game.”

The source also commented on the possibility that double headers no longer have to happen because of the longer schedule window of up to 57 days, which was usually only around 45 days. He explained that not only broadcasters are having trouble with this. This is contrary to what the franchises have been saying how it is the broadcasters who are really having a hard time with double headers. 

He said, “Do you believe that it is just the broadcasters who have a problem? Let us be real. Even franchises have a problem filling the stands for the afternoon games. So, it is best that we do away with the afternoon games and focus on one game a day.” Basically, franchises are also struggling with generating revenues with such matches. After all, it’s just really hard for fans and the crowd to still watch the matches live during a weekday or a workday. 

The IPL Auction is now done and fans simply can’t wait to see their favorites play in new teams. The eight teams that are competing this year are:

  • The Delhi Capitals
  • Rajasthan Royals
  • Sunrisers Hyderabad
  • Royal Challengers Bangalore
  • Kings XI Punjab
  • Kolkata Knight Riders
  • Mumbai Indians
  • Chennai Super Kings