Prarthana Thombare storms into doubles semi-finals; Rutuja Bhosale bows out of the L&T Mumbai Open Tennis Championships

Share this News:

Mumbai, February 8: India’s top-ranked doubles player Prarthana Thombare and Dutch partner Arianne Hartono stormed into the doubles semi-finals of the L&T Mumbai Open WTA 125K Series Tennis Championships, being organized by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) and the Cricket Club of India (CCI), on Thursday.

The unseeded duo scored a comfortable 6-4, 6-2 win over the Greek-Aussie combination of Sapfo Sakellaridi / Olivia Tjandramulia to set up a semi-final clash against Sohyun Park/ Zhibek Kulambayeva.

In the singles event, local favourite Rutuja Bhosale’s run came to an end as the wildcard entrant went down in three sets to eighth seed Katie Volynets. The American won 7-6(8), 2-6, 6-1 in just under three hours to score her second win in a row over a local player, having beaten India No. 1 Ankita Raina in the opening round. Volynets will take on South Korea’s Sohyun Park, who defeated Italy’s Camilla Rosatello 6-3, 5-7, 6-3 in a battle between two lucky losers.

Moyuka Uchijima also reached the last eight with a 6-2, 6-1 win over Hungary’s Dalma Galfi and the Japanese will face the winner of the evening session match between India No. 2 Sahaja Yamalapalli and Polina Kudermetova.

L&T Mumbai Open WTA 125K Series Results, Thursday February 8, 2024

Singles Second Round

[8] Katie Volynets (USA) def. [WC] Rutuja Bhosale (IND) 7-6(8), 2-6, 6-1

Moyuka Uchijima (JPN) def. Dalma Galfi (HUN) 6-2, 6-1

[LL] Sohyun Park (KOR) def. [LL] Camilla Rosatello (ITA) 6-3, 5-7, 6-3

Doubles Quarter-Finals

Arianne Hartono (NED) / Prarthana Thombare (IND) def. Sapfo Sakellaridi (GRE) / Olivia Tjandramulia (AUS) 6-4, 6-2

Naiktha Bains (GBR) / Fanny Stollar (HUN) def. Anastasia Tikhonova / Motuka Uchijima (JPN) 6-2, 6-2

About the L&T Mumbai Open WTA 125 Series

L&T Mumbai Open Tennis Championships is returning to Mumbai after a gap of six years, with reigning Australian Open champion Aryna Sabalenka winning the inaugural edition in 2017 as a teenager and Thailand’s Luksika Kumkhum winning the title in 2018.