Pune: Bangalore City University, VBSP University, Jaunpur register huge wins at SNBP 28th Nehru All-India University Hockey

Share this News:

Pune, 9th March 2022: Last year’s runners-up Bangalore City University, Bengaluru and third-place finishers VBSP University, Jaunpur got off to winning starts on the opening day of the SNBP – 28th Nehru All-India Inter-University Hockey Tournament (Inter-Zonal Final) at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar, Pimpri on Wednesday.

Bangalore City University downed Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra 6-1, while VBSP University, Jaunpur beat Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar 6-0 in their respective group matches on a day that overall saw 13 goals logged from two matches

The tournament is being conducted in collaboration with the Association of Indian Universities (AIU), under the aegis of Hockey India and title sponsored by SNBP Group of Institutes, Pune.

In the opening encounter, VBSP University, Jaunpur registered a shock one-sided win over North Zone winners Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar 6-0 in a Pool-A encounter.

VBSP University, who finished third in the East Zone qualifiers this year, opened the scoring through Vejendra Singh (8th) off a penalty corner. Ankur Talwar (18th) converted a penalty stroke to make it 2-0 before Manish Sahani (34th) converted another penalty corner to take a comfortable 3-0 lead at halftime.

Changing ends, VBSP University netted three field goals in a span of eleven minutes. Arun Sahani (47th), Darmendra Yadav (55th), Gagan Rajbhar (58th) scored to round of the tally.

In a Pool-B encounter, South Zone winners Bangalore City University Bengaluru rode on a two-goal-one-in-each-half effort by Mutagar Haresh Hs (30th, 58th) to down Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra 6-1.

Gowda Pranam Ym (25th) opened the scoring for Bangalore University before Mutagar netted to make it 2-0 and end the first half.

Changing ends, Ashik Nr (33rd) made it 3-0 for Bangalore University, before Rahul Kumar (34th) pulled one back for Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra (3-1).

Pavan Fm (49th), Punith R (56th) and Mutagar completed the tally for Bangalore University.

Earlier the tournament was inaugurated by Nitin Karmalkar, Vice-Chancellor, Savitribai Phule Pune University and Dr. Vrishali Bhosale, President, SNBP Group of Institutes.


Pool-A: VBSP University, Jaunpur: 6 (Vejendra Singh 8th; Ankur Talwar 18th; Manish Sahani 34th; Arun Sahani 47th; Darmendra Yadav 55th; Gagan Rajbhar 58th) bt Guru Nanak Dev University, Amritsar: 0HT: 2-0

Group-B: Bangalore City University Bengaluru: 6 (Gowda Pranam Ym 25th; Mutagar Haresh Hs 30th, 58th; Ashik Nr 33rd; Pavan Fm 49th; Punith R 56th) bt Kurukshetra University, Kurukshetra: 1 (Rahul Kumar 34th). HT: 2-0


Pool-C: Savitribai Phule University, Pune v/s SRM University, Chennai – 1.00 p.m

Pool-D: MG Kashi Vidyapeeth, Varanasi v/s University of Mumbai – 3.00 p.m