Pune: Rajya Sabha Elections for Maharashtra Set for February 27, 2024

Share this News:

Tikam Shekhawat

Pune/New Delhi, 29th January 2024: The Election Commission of India (ECI) has unveiled the election schedule for the upcoming Rajya Sabha polls, with elections scheduled for February 27, 2024, to fill six vacant seats from Maharashtra. The last date for submitting applications is February 15, 2024.

The announcement comes as the tenures of current Rajya Sabha Members of Parliament Anil Desai, Prakash Javadekar, Kumar Ketkar, V Muralidharan, Narayan Rane, and Vandana Chavan from Maharashtra are set to conclude on April 2, 2024, leading to the vacancy of six Rajya Sabha seats from the state. Simultaneous elections for a total of 56 Rajya Sabha seats, spanning 16 states, will take place on February 27, with results expected to be declared on the same day.

States participating in the election process, besides Maharashtra, include Andhra Pradesh (3), Bihar (6), Chhattisgarh (1), Gujarat (4), Haryana (1), Himachal Pradesh (1), Karnataka (4), Madhya Pradesh (5), Telangana (3), Uttar Pradesh (10), Uttarakhand (1), West Bengal (5), Odisha (3), and Rajasthan (3).

Election Program Overview:

The election notification is scheduled to be issued on February 8, 2024. Interested candidates have until February 15 to submit their applications, which will be scrutinized on February 16. Withdrawal of applications can be made until February 20. The voting process will take place on February 27, from 9 am to 4 pm, and the results will be announced at 5 pm on the same day. The entire election process will conclude on February 29, 2024.

महाराष्ट्रातून राज्यसभेवरील रिक्त सहा जागांसाठी 27 फेब्रुवारी रोजी निवडणूक

In light of the upcoming elections, the Election Commission has issued directives for the use of special violet sketch pens during voting. Additionally, to ensure fairness and transparency, observers will be appointed.