Pune: Top Mathematicians to Present at International Conference on Discrete Mathematics

Pune university SPPU
Share this News:

Pune, 6th June 2024: International Conference on Discrete Mathematics 2024 (ICDM 2024), which is the 20th Annual Conference of the Academy of Discrete Mathematics and Applications (ADMA) will be held from June 7-10, 2024 at the Department of Mathematics, Savitribai Phule Pune University.

The conference is being jointly organized by the Department of Mathematics, Savitribai Phule Pune University and COEP Technological University, Pune. The Conference will be inaugurated by the Hon’ble Vice-Chancellor of the Savitribai Phule Pune University Prof. Suresh Gosavi, the President of ADMA Prof. Ambat Vijayakumar, Prof. Ravi Kulkarni, a well-known mathematician and a former director of Harishchandra Research Institute, Prof. Vinayak Joshi, Head of the Department of Mathematics, Prof. Yashwant Borse, Savitribai Phule Pune University and Prof. Charusheela Deshpande from the COEP Technological University, Pune on June 7, 2024, at 9:30 am.

The chief guest for the conference will be Prof. Ram Murty, from Queen’s University, Canada, and a distinguished mathematician and a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. He is a recipient of the Coxeter-James Prize and the Jeffrey-Williams Prize and also a recipient of the 2024 CRM-Fields-PIMS prize.

The four-day conference will have talks by many distinguished mathematicians. The speakers include Prof. Friedrich Wehrung from the University of Caen Normandy in France who settled Dilworth’s conjecture in Lattice Theory, Prof. Mathias Schacht from the University of Hamburg, who has received the Richard Rado Prize of the German Mathematical Society and the George Pólya Prize of the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics for his research on hypergraph regularity, Prof. G. Y. Katona from Budapest University who is well known for his contributions to the field of discrete mathematics, Prof. Sandra Kingan from the City University of New York, USA who has been serving as one of the North American ambassadors to the International Mathematical Union’s Committee for Women.

The speakers from within the country include Prof. Apoorva Khare from IISc Bangalore, who is a recipient of the Shanti Swaroop Bhatnagar Prize by the Govt of India; Prof. Shekhar Mande, Former Director General CSIR & Distinguished Professor, Bioinformatics Centre, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Prof. Amitava Bhattacharya, TIFR, Mumbai, Prof. Shariefuddin Pirzada, University of Kashmir, Srinagar, Prof. Soumen Maity, IISER, Pune and Prof. Ganesh Kadu, Savitribai Phule Pune University, Pune.
The conference will have nearly 100 lectures (talks) in all, including 5 Plenary Talks, 6 Endowment Lectures, 8 Invited Lectures and the rest research Paper Presentations.