Sahyadri Navaratna Awards 2016 announced

Share this News:


Mumbai, May 11, 2016 : To  acknowledge the contribution of some of the greatest achievers from Maharashtra in the field of Music, Cinema, Education, Drama, Sports, Journalism, Social work, Industry etc. Doordarshan Kendra, MumbaI instituted the “Sahyadri Navaratna Awards In the year 2002. Names of this years awardees were announced today in a press conference. Shri. Nana Pataker (Films), Dr. Vijaya Rajadhyaksha (Literature) Shri Ramdas Kamat (drama)Shri Ajay- Atul (Music), Ms Vijaya Wad (Education), Shri Radhakrishana Narvekar (Journalist), Shri Anil Jain (industrialist), Shri Vijay Phanlnikar (seva),Shri Achut Palav (art), Ms Prarthana Behere (Godrej No. 1 special award) face of the year.

The jury of this Award function’s independently, selecting those meritorious individuals, without any interference from the channel  thus  making it a very coveted award. This year the jury comprises of Shri Vikram Gokhale, renowned Film Personality, Shri Dinkar Raikar, Editor Lokmat, Shri Vijay Kalantri, Chairman Renowned Industrialist & President of All India Association Industries and  Ms. Girija Katdare, famous Marathi theatre personality

Some of the earlier awardees were Shri Amol Palekar, Shri Sachin Tendulkar, Shri Mangesh Padgaonkar, Shri Raj Dutt, Ms. Mrinal Gore, Shri Namdeo Dhasal, Snehal Bhatkar, Dr. Vijay Bhatkar, Shri Dhanraj Pillai to name a few. While announcing this year awardees Shri Mukesh Sharma, Addl. Director General, Doordarshan Kendra, Mumbai said  “These Navratnas strive on with their task, too immersed in their work to bother about applause and accolades, that is why I wanted to tell these people that we want to recognize your work and acknowledge your contribution.  This is our way of humbly saying “Thank you for being”.

15th Navratna Award ceremony will take place on 12.5.2016 at 6.00 p.m. at Ravindra Natya Mandir, Mumbai.  The Governor of Maharashtra Shri Vidyadhar Rao will be the Chief Guest of the function and will give away the awards.