Savitribai Phule Pune University’s 124th Graduation Ceremony Concludes with Enthusiasm; 7,125 Students Graduated

Share this News:

Pune, 3rd July 2024: The 124th graduation ceremony of Savitribai Phule Pune University (SPPU) concluded with great enthusiasm today, celebrating the achievements of 7,125 graduating students.

Speaking at the event, Prof. T.G. Sitharam, chairman of the All India Council for Technical Education (AICTE), emphasized the need to increase the Gross Enrollment Ratio in higher education from the current 28.3% to 50% by 2035. He highlighted that although 26.5 crore students enroll for school education in the country, only 4.5 crore pursue higher education. To achieve the target, Prof. Sitharam pointed out the necessity of establishing a thousand more universities and adopting digital technologies to engage new students.

The graduation ceremony, presided over by Vice-Chancellor Prof. (Dr.) Suresh Gosavi, saw Prof. Sitharam as the chief guest. Other notable attendees included Prof. (Dr.) Parag Kalkar, Prof. (Dr.) Vijay Khare, Finance and Accounts Officer CMA Charushila Gayke, Director of Examination and Evaluation Board Dr. Mahesh Kakade, Dean of Science and Technology Faculty Prof. (Dr.) Pramod Patil, Dean of the Faculty of Commerce and Management Prof. (Dr.) Yashodhan Mithare, and several other esteemed members of the university’s administration.

In his speech, Prof. Sitharam discussed the rapid advancements in AI and other technologies, urging students to adapt to these changes to succeed in the modern world. He also praised the New National Education Policy 2020, describing it as an ambitious national project that Savitribai Phule Pune University is leading in implementation.

Vice-Chancellor Prof. Gosavi expressed confidence that the new generation will become skilled intellectuals and resourceful individuals capable of securing employment. He also presented a brief report on the university’s progress.

During the ceremony, a special edition of ‘Vidyapith Varta’ was published. The Chief Guest honored 71 students who excelled in various examinations with 117 gold medals. Notably, Chaitrali Joshi from the Sanskrit and Prakrit department received 8 gold medals, Shreya Tengse from the Marathi department received 7, Shreya Gunjal from Pimpri Chinchwad College of Engineering received 5, and Prateek Agarwal from Pune Institute of Computer Technology received 4 gold medals.

The indoor hall of the university hosted the ceremony, where 4,814 students received degree certificates, 2,020 students received postgraduate certificates, 35 students received graduation certificates, 239 students received PhDs, 14 students received postgraduate certificates, and 3 students received M.Phil. certificates.

The event was attended by members of the Management Council, Vidya Parishad members, Adhisabha members, Deans of various faculties, professors, teachers, non-teaching staff, and students.