Students of Designing Institutes of Pune shine at PDF 2016

Share this News:

 ·        Battle of Design Projects 2016 received 478 entries;

·         Out of 20 winners, 12 students are from the Designing Institutes of Pune

Pune, February 29th, 2016: The second day of Pune Design Festival (PDF) was a day to cheer and celebrate for the students of MIT Institute of Design (MIT ID), DSK International School of Design (DSK ISD), ISD Rubika DSK Campus, Pune, who bagged maximum awards in the Battle of (Design) Projects competition. Organized by Association of Designers of India (ADI), the winners of this competition received awards during the 10th edition of PDF, on 27th February, 2016 at Hyatt Regency.

Supported by Autodesk and endorsed by India Design Council, the competition was divided in five different categories; Industrial Design, Graphic Design & Visual Communication, User interface design, Transportation Design and Craft based products. The competition had received 478 entries from National Institute of Design, Ahmedabad, Gandhinagar, IIT Kanpur, IIT Guwahati, Industrial Design Centre Mumbai, Srishti Institute of Art, Design & Technology, Pearl Academy, DSK ISD, DYPDC, Symbiosis Institute of Design (SID) and MIT ID, Pune.

Out of 20 winners of various categories in Battel of Projects include, 12 students of Pune institute secured maximum positions at the competition. The list includes, Astha Bhattacharya (Winner – MIT ID), Anula Shevale (Runner up- MIT ID), Anjali Dsouza (1st Runner up- MIT ID) in Graphic Design & Visual Communication; Pravin Ghodke, Aditit Bansal, Priyanka Rangparia and Tanya Singh (1st Runner up- MIT ID) in User Interface Design; Kaushal Dabak (Winner – ISD Rubika Dsk Campus), Rajshekhar Dass (Runner up- DSK ISD) and Amandeep Singh Sandhu (1st Runner up-MIT ID) in Transportation Design and Sarah Das & Saloni Bedi (Winner- MIT ID) in Industrial Design. Preeyal Patil (Winner- NID), Medha Gupta (Runner up- NID) and Vishal Kumar Singh (1st Runner up- IIT Guwahati) topped under the Craft Based Design category.

Later, the fest also announced three winning teams of a unique overnight workshop titled as ‘Design Swarm’, conducted by Autodesk which was based on the theme of ‘Designing for a better world – Cradle to Cradle’.

Moreover, the second day of PDF also witnessed a packed hall comprising of students, professionals and industry experts across sectors to share their design-based stories, experiences and practices. During the fest, ADI also awarded Prof. Singanapalli Balaram – Dean and Founder, DJ Academy of Design with an Honorary Fellowship Award. The award was presented by the hands of past honorary awardees Shrikant Nivasarkar and Prof Vikas Satwalekar.

This accreditation is as a lifetime ADI honorary fellow member and was presented to Prof Balaram for his exceptional contribution towards the field of design and design education. The award was in the form of a plaque.

Concluding the 2-day fest with a grand celebration, this year PDF has really emerged as more thought and knowledge intensive especially for the students.