Sunil Chhetri, Sandesh Jhinghan, And Gurpreet Singh Missing From Indian Football Team Roster For Asian Games

Share this News:

New Delhi, 29th July 2023: The Sports Ministry approved the participation of the Indian men’s and women’s football teams, including notable players like Sunil Chhetri, Sandesh Jhinghan, and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu, in the Asian Games to be held in Hangzhou. However, recent reports indicate that these three players’ names are missing from the roster submitted to the Asian Games organizers.

According to Asian Games regulations, the men’s team must primarily consist of U-23 players, but they can include up to three players above the age of 23. Many anticipated Chhetri, Jhinghan, and Gurpreet to be part of the squad, with Chhetri expected to lead the Indian team. However, the Times of India report revealed that their names were omitted from the list sent to the organizers.

The Asian Games, initially scheduled in China but postponed due to the Covid situation, have been subject to drama surrounding the Sports Ministry’s decision initially not to send Indian football teams. The decision was later overruled, leading to a list of 22 players being submitted to the organizers by the July 15 deadline.

In response to the exclusion of Chhetri, Jhinghan, and Gurpreet, AIFF president Kalyan Chaubey has requested the Asian Games organizers to grant accreditation to these players. A letter addressing the matter has been forwarded to the Asiad organizers committee.

Chaubey acknowledged that the trio’s names were absent from the player list during the AIFF’s meeting with Sports Ministry officials. Upon discovering the omission, he raised the issue with the organizers.

Here is the current list of players selected for the Asian Games:
1. Gurmeet Singh (HFC)
2. Prabhsukhan Gill (EBFC)
3. Dheeraj Singh (FCG)
4. Anwar Ali (MBSG)
5. Narender Gahlot (OFC)
6. Akash Mishra (MCFC)
7. Roshan Singh (BFC)
8. Asish Rai (MBSG)
9. Apuia (MCFC)
10. Lalnuntluanga (RKFC)
11. Amarjit (PFC)
12. M Thoiba (OFC)
13. Deepak (MBSG)
14. Jeakson (KBFC)
15. Suresh (BFC)
16. Rahim Ali (CFC)
17. Rohit Danu (BFC)
18. Aniket Jadhav (OFC)
19. Rahul KP (KBFC)
20. Mahesh (EBFC)
21. Sivasakthi (BFC)
22. Vikram (MCFC)