Union Home Minister to chair meeting of Coastal States/UTs on 16th June at Mumbai 

Share this News:
The Union Home Minister Shri Rajnath Singh will chair the meeting of Home Ministers, Chief Secretaries and Directors General of Police (DGPs) of Coastal States and Union Territories on June 16, 2016 at Mumbai. Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Kiren Rijiju and senior officers of the Ministry will be attending the meeting organized by the Department of Border Management, Ministry of Home Affairs. Dignitaries from the nine coastal states (West Bengal, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, Karnataka, Goa, Maharashtra and Gujarat) and four Union Territories, (Daman & Diu, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Lakshadweep and Andaman and Nicobar Islands), Inter-State Council Secretariat (ISCS), Registrar General of India, Ministry of Defence, Ministry of Shipping, Department of Animal Husbandry, Dairying and Fisheries and Indian Coast Guard are participating in the meeting.

During the pre-lunch session of the meeting, there will be discussions on expeditious implementation of coastal security scheme, institutional set up in States/UTs to review coastal security, constitution of State Maritime Boards, security of non-major ports and single point mooring, coastal mapping, security of islands, distribution of Biometric Identity Cards and Card Readers, colour coding of boats, monitoring of fish landing points and crossing of International Maritime Boundary Line (IMBL) by fishermen.

There will also be presentations by the Indian Coast Guard and the Coastal States and UTs in which they will be highlighting, before Shri Rajnath Singh, Union Home Minister, Shri Kiren Rijiju, Minister of State for Home Affairs, Shri Rajiv Mehrishi, Union Home Secretary and Shri Susheel Kumar, Secretary (BM), the steps being taken by them for ensuring coastal security and their requirements/ suggestions for strengthening it further.