FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship.

Share this News:


July 23, 2015: Hyderabad, India’s karting capital is all set to host the second round of JK Tyre-FMSCI National Rotax Karting Championship 2015 at the brand new Chicane circuit at the Leonia Holistic Destination, Hyderabad from July 25-26, 2015.

After an action packed Round 1, the second round of the championship promises adrenaline rush for the participants as well as the audiences given that this round will feature night races. The qualifying and heats will be run under flood lights on Saturday from 4pm onwards and the pre-final & final races will be held from Sunday morning onwards. The weekend will also see an interesting line-up of on-track activations.

Over 44 young karters will be seen competing in Round 2 of the championship where drivers will be seen racing on karts that run on the new Evo Max engines, a new introduction this year that is intended to enhance the driver’s performance. It will be a sight to watch drivers take forward their lead in Round 2.

Shahan Ali Mohsin from Agra (Team Meco Racing), Akash Gowda from Bangalore (Team Meco Racing) and Chennai lad Vishnu Prasad (Team Meco Racing) emerged champions in the Micro Max, Junior Max pre-finals and Senior Max category respectively after Round 1 of the Championship.

The six teams participating in the Championship are Rayo Racing from Mumbai, Meco Racing from Chennai, Mohite’s Racing from Kolhapur, BPC Racing from Bangalore, Erda Racing from Baroda and Dark Don Racing from Chennai. The drivers representing the 6 teams will be divided in three categories basis their age: Micro Max (7 yrs-12 yrs), Junior Max (13-yrs-15 yrs) & Senior Max (15 yrs & above).

The 12th JK Tyre National Karting Championship is the first major event hosted at the brand new Chicane circuit and is 1.2 kms in length & 8.5kms in width with 12 corners.

The interesting line-up of drivers who have been defending champions & multiple podium finishers like Vishnu Prasad, Ameya Bafna, Chittesh Mandody, Dhruv Mohite, Yash Aradhya, Nayan Chatterjee, Mira Erda, Akash Gowda, Shahan Ali Mohsin, Ruhan Alwa are all in their best form now and the competition will get more fierce from here as they will leave no stone unturned to ensure that they maintain and take the lead in their respective categories.

Each participant will be awarded points after each round. The overall champions in each category will be decided basis the total points after five rounds. The overall champions in the Junior & Senior Max category will get a lifetime opportunity to represent India & drive in the World Karting Finals 2015 which is scheduled in Portugal later this year in November. The overall champions, the first & second runner-up in the Junior Max & Senior Max category get a fully sponsored drive in the JK Racing India Series in the JK Tyre Racing Championship 2016. The JK Racing India series features BMW powered engines Formula cars and is the next step in the growth progression ladder of motorsport after Karting.

JK Tyre is credited with introducing the concept of Karting in India and has patronized Karting circuits across the country. JK Tyre together with Meco Motorsports introduced the professional level of karting in 2004 with the introduction of the Rotax 2 Stroke Kart Engines. It was then the JK Tyre Rotax Max National Karting Championship came into being and today it is the only National Karting championship of the country. The winners of the JK Tyre Rotax Max National Karting Championship are selected to represent the country in the Rotax Max World Finals held every year.

The karting programme of JK Tyre has seen prodigies doing well, both at the national and international levels.

Some of these names include those of Narain Karthikeyan, Karun Chandhok, Armaan Ebrahim, Aditya Patel and Arjun Maini have all graduated from these karting championships to becoming international motorsport icons.