40 Knowledge Text translations published in 16 languages under National Translation Mission

Share this News:

New Delhi, July 8, 2019 : The National Translation Mission (NTM) is a scheme launched in 2008 which is being implemented through the Central Institute of Indian Languages (CIIL), Mysore to establish translation as an industry in general and to facilitate higher education by making knowledge texts accessible to students and academics in Indian languages. Under the scheme, the books of knowledge texts mostly text books of various subjects prescribed in Universities and Colleges are being translated in all Languages of the 8th Schedule of the Constitution of India. National Translation Mission has so far published 40 Knowledge Text translations in 16 languages (Assamese, Bengali, Bodo, Dogri, Hindi, Kannada, Maithili, Malayalam, Manipuri, Marathi, Nepali, Odia, Punjabi, Tamil, Telugu and Urdu). NTM has published 6 bilingual dictionaries (English to Indian languages) in collaboration with Pearson Education, India. The Mission has trained about 1400 budding translators through 3-week intensive courses (21 days) on ‘Introduction to translation’ and ‘Research Methodology in Translation’

Number of Text books published during last 3 years is 26

2016-17 3
2017-18 14
2018-19 9

Language wise publication in last 3 years by National Translation Mission

No. Language Number of books published
Assamese 1
Bengali 3
Bodo 2
Dogri 2
Hindi 3
Kannada 3
Maithili 2
Malayalam 2
Manipuri 1
Nepali 2
Punjabi 1
Tamil 2
Telugu 1
Urdu 1
Total 26

This information was given by the Union Minister for Human Resource Development, Dr Ramesh Pokhriyal ‘Nishank’ in a written reply in the Lok Sabha today.