Share this News:

Pune, 25th August 2023: GM SP Sethuraman playing on board 1, continued his unbeaten run in the 60th National Chess Championship which being organised by Maharashtra Chess Association and played at Boxing Hall Shree ShivChhatrapati Kreeda Sankul Mhalunge Balewadi, Pune. Sethuraman won his game with the black pieces, virtually winning the tournament with a round to go. Sethuraman has 9 points out of 10 rounds.

IM Aronyak Ghosh and GM Diptayan Ghosh, playing on board 2, played out a quick theoretical draw. The game ended in less than 30 minutes, giving both the players a much needed rest ahead of their important last round games.
On board 3, inform GM Vigneh NR played out a solid draw against GM Vishnu Prasanna. Both played a solid opening and played a safe game, right until both players happily agreed to a draw. GM Vignesh NR had some chances in the middle game, but GM Vishnu Prasanna found the best moves, and the game ended in a deserved draw.

Top seed GM Abhijeet Gupta, playing on board 4, won his game with the black pieces against a strong GM Sayanatan Das. Gupta, played a marathon game, and kept on pressing against his opponent. In the end, Gupta managed to get a much deserved win, defeating one of the inform players in this tournament. Gupta is at 8 points out of 10 rounds, with 2 losses.

Following are the results: 10th round: Neelash Saha(7.5pts)(RSPB)lost to Sethuraman, S.P.(9pts)(PSPB);
Aronyak, Ghosh(8pts)(RSPB) drew with Diptayan Ghosh(8pts)(WB);
Vignesh, N R(8pts)(RSPB) drew with Vishnu Prasanna. V(8pts)(TN);
Sayantan Das(7pts)(RSPB) lost to Abhijeet Gupta(8pts)(PSPB);
Abhimanyu Puranik(8pts)(AAI) bt Akash, G(7pts)(TN);
Mitrabha, Guha(8pts)(WB) bt Deepan Chakkravarthy J.(7pts)(RSPB);
Srihari LR(7.5pts)(TN) drew with Iniyan P(7.5pts)(TN);
Utsab, Chatterjee(6.5pts)(WB) lost to Surya Shekhar Ganguly(7.5pts)(PSPB);
Visakh NR(7.5pts)(RSPB) bt Kolla Bhaavan(6.5pts)(AP);
Deep Sengupta(7pts)(PSPB) drew with Dinesh Sharma(7pts)(LIC);
Suyog Wagh(7.5pts)(MAH) bt Shyaamnikhil P(6.5pts)(RSPB);
Abhishek Kelkar(6.5pts)(MAH) lost to Venkatesh, M.R.(7.5pts)(PSPB);
Apoorv, Kamble(7.5pts)(KAR) bt Anuj Shrivatri(6.5pts)(MP);
Dhananjay S(6.5pts)(CHAT) lost to Krishna, CRG(7.5pts)(RSPB);
Nitin S.(7.5pts)(RSPB) bt Samyak Dharewa(6.5pts)(WB);
Ram, S. Krishnan(6.5pts)(BSNL) lost to Utkal Sahoo(7.5pts)(ODI);
Mukund Agarwal(6pts)(GUJ) lost to Sidhant Mohapatra(7pts)(RSPB);
Arghyadip Das(7pts)(RSPB) bt Shriraj Bhosale(6pts)(MAH);