Double Crown for Nishit and Asmi at D.E.S. Fergusson College AITA Championship series U-18 Tennis Tournament

Share this News:

Pune, April 29, 2022: Nishit Rahane and Asm Adkar both from Pune lifted memorable double crowns winning the Boys and the Girls Singles and Doubles title at the D.E.S. Fergusson College Championship series Under 18 Tennis Tournament organized by Fergusson College and Nandan Bal Tennis Academy Under the auspices of MSLTA and AITA and which concluded at Fergusson College Tennis Courts.


In the finals played today seventh seeded Nishit Rahane stopped the winning run of sixth seed Tanishq Jadhav upsetting him 6-1, 3-6, 6-1 in a 2 hour match , 15 year old 10th standard student of Abhinav Vidyalaya Highschool Asmi Adkar who qualified for the event upset fourth seeded Agnimitra Bhattacharya of Maharashtra 6-3, 6-0 to win the girls crown


While Nishit was crowned the Mens State Champion at Nanded Recently Asmi supported by Lakshya who won the National series under 16 tennis tournament at hyderabad and and also won under 18 Super Series at Sonipat continued her good run adding the title to her kitty

Nishit later teamed up with Jay Dixit to claim the doubles title edging out third seeds Arnav Kokane and Aryan Kotasthane 1-6, 7-5, 10-4 , while Asmi tied up with Prisha Shinde to outplay second seeds Mrunmayee Joshi and Shruti Nanajkar 6-0, 6-2 for the title .


The prizes were given away at the hands of Mr.Hemraj Ranpise, Sports Chairman of DES Society, Mr.Sharadrao Kunte, President of DES Society, Mr.RG Pardeshi, Principal of Fergusson College and Mr .Sunder Iyer, Hon Secretary of MSLTA , Mr.Nandan Bal, Mr.Gautam Sonawane, and Tournament Director Mr.Sangram Chafekar were present on the occasion.


Following are the results: final Round: Boys:

Nishit Rahane(Mah)[7] bt Tanishq Jadhav(Mah)[6] 6-1, 3-6, 6-1;

Girls: Asmi Adkar(Mah)[6] bt Agnimitra Bhattacharya(Mah)[4] 6-3, 6-0;


Doubles: Boys: Jay Dixit/Nishit Rahane bt Arnav Kokane/Aryan Kotasthane[3] 1-6, 7-5, 10-4;

Girls: Asmi Aadkar/Prisha Shinde bt Mrunmayee Joshi/Shruti Nanajkar[2] 6-0, 6-2.