Govind Nihalani, Dilip Prabhavalkar to be conferred upon with PIFF Distinguished Award for Outstanding Contribution in Indian Cinema

Share this News:

Pune, January 7, 2019 : Govind Nihalani, renowned Director who is famous for his take on different sensitive issues through his movies and Dilip Prabhavalkar, renowned Actor from Marathi Cinema who is equally celebrated as a Thespian and a witty Writer, will be conferred upon with this year’s PIFF Distinguished Award for outstanding contribution in Indian Cinema. While the famous Music Composer Raamlaxman will be felicitated with the prestigious ‘S. D. Burman International Award for Creative Music and Sound’ for his contribution to music in Indian Cinema.

The award ceremony will be conducted as a part of the opening ceremony of Pune International Film Festival (PIFF), which will witness the presence of Vinod Tawade, Minister of Cultural Affairs, Maharashtra. Rohini Hattangadi, veteran Actor and Sai Tamhankar, famous Actor will also grace the event with their presence, while Sumit Raghavan, renowned Actor will anchor the event.

The information is given by Dr. Jabbar Patel, Director, PIFF in a press conference today. Ravi Gupta, Secretary, PIFF was also present on the dais.

Famous Actor Tabu will grace the festival with her presence for the screening of her recent movie ‘Andhadhun’ on January 11, at City Pride, Kothrud, She will also visit PIFF Forum on January 12 along with the Director of the movie Sriram Raghavan.

The much awaited film festival in its 17th year, will commence on January 10, 2019. The grand opening and award ceremony will be conducted in City Pride, Kothrud at 4.30 pm on this day. A Spanish film‘Damn Kids’ directed by Gonzalo Justiniano which is the opening film of the fest will be showcased immediately after the inaugural function. The 8 day festival is organized by Pune Film Foundation and is formally entitled as the Film Festival of Maharashtra by the state government.

Govind Nihalani, renowned Director and Dilip Prabhavalkar, renowned Actor will be felicitated with this year’s PIFF Distinguished Award for Outstanding Contribution in Indian Cinema.

Nihalani started his directorial career with the movie ‘Aakrosh’ (1980). From the first movie itself, He got the recognition from critics for his very realistic depiction of critical social issues and human emotions. His movies ‘Ardhasatya’, ‘Tamas’, ‘Vijeta’, ‘Drohkaal’, ‘Hazaar Charasi Ki Maa’, ‘Dev’ and many more were very much appreciated by critics and the Film Buffs. His recent Marathi movie ‘Tee ani Itar’ starring Subodh Bhave, Sonali Kulkarni and Amruta Subhash was also received well.

Dilip Prabhavalkar is not only known for his films but as a very senior Stage Actor and Writer too. His performances on stage as a witch in the Marathi play ‘Albatya Galbatya’, as a disturbed, sacrificing father of mentally handicapped son in the play ‘Natigoti’ and now as Vidur in the recent play based on ancient epic Mahabharat- ‘Aranyak’ are considered to be phenomenal. His character of Chimanrao in a series based on the book ‘Chimanravanche Charhat’ by C. V. Joshi was very much popular. His movies ‘Chaukat Raja’, ‘Katha Don Ganpatravachi’, ‘Sarkarnama’ are widely acclaimed by critics and the viewers at large. He wrote several books like ‘Anudini’ (Which later was adapted in a popular series ‘Shriyut Gangadhar Tipare’), ‘Googly’, ‘Bokya Saatbande’ (Which also came in the form of TV series for kids) are appreciated for his special comic and witty touch.

Musician Raamlaxman (Originally known by the name Vijay Patil or Musician ‘Laxman’) is a very popular name in the music of Hindi Cinema. Originally, the name ‘Raamlaxman’ stood for the musician duo Raam and Laxman. After the death of Raam way back in 1976, Laxman continued to use the full name ‘Raamlaxman’ till now. He is known for his popular music in several movies like ‘Maine Pyar Kiya’, ‘Hum Aap Ke Hai Kaun’, ‘Hum Saath Saath Hai’ and many more. He also worked with Marathi Actor-Director Dada Kondke for his comedy ‘Pandu Hawaldaar’ which was a huge hit among maases.