GST vs. Krida Prabodhini: Showdown Set for 3rd MJ Cup Invitational Hockey Tournament Finals

Share this News:

Pune, 22nd December 2023: GST Customs Pune and youthful Krida Prabodhini set up a final clash in the 3rd MJ Cup Invitational Hockey Tournament (Men and Women) 2023 at the Maj. Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium at the Nehrunagar-Pimpri on Friday.

The tournament being held under the aegis of Hockey Maharashtra and organized by Excellency Hockey Academy in joint association with the Dhanraj Pillay Foundation.

In the first semifinal, GST & Customs Pune fought off PCMC Academy 4-2. Showing teamwork in the scoring department, GST had four scorers account for their tally. The opener was netted by Stephan Swami (7th) before Felix Baa (36th) off a penalty stroke. For PCMC Academy Bharat Bharadwaj (30th) and Harshdeep Singh (32nd) off a successful penalty-stroke conversion levelled terms 2-2.

However, GST added two more first by Pranav Mane (45th) from a penalty corner to increase the tally to 3-2 and later Taleb Shah (56th) rounded off the tally.

In the second semifinal, Krida Prabodhini won a seven goal thriller (4-3) against Central Railway Pune. A brace by Dhairyasheel Jadhav (19th, 44th) and a goal from Sachin Kolekar (21st) from a penalty corner and Prajwal Moharkar (46th) was enough to go through. Central Railway Pune had Saddam A (3rd, 13th) score a double and Vishal Pillay (49th) convert a penalty-stroke.

In the women’s section, Krida Prabodhini will take on PCMC Academy in the summit clash.

The semifinals were one sided, with Krida Prabodhini easing past Mumbai Republicans 3-0. Tanushree Kadu (6th) began the scoring then a two-goal scoring sequence by Diksha Patil (51st) and a penalty stroke conversion by Mahi Choudhari (53rd) completed the tally.

Later, PCMC Academy motched a 4-1 win over hosts Excellence Hockey Academy. Prajakta Mane (6th), Bhavana Khade (28th) off a penalty-corner, Shalani Sakure (50th) off a penalty-stroke and Sanika Mane (54th) scored for the winners. Neha Khairale (36th) pulled one back for the losers.


MEN: SF-1: GST & Customs Pune: 4 (Stephan Swami 7th; Felix Baa 36th – p.s; Pranav Mane 45th – p.c; Taleb Shah 56th) bt PCMC Academy: 2 (Bharat Bharadwaj 30th; Harshdeep Singh 32nd – p.s). HT: 2-0

SF-2: Krida Prabodhini: 4 (Dhairyasheel Jadhav 19th, 44th; Sachin Kolekar 21st – p.c; Prajwal Moharkar 46th) bt Central Railway Pune: 3 (Saddam A 3rd, 13th; Vishal Pillay 49th – p.s). HT: 2-2

WOMEN: SF-1: Krida Prabodhini: 3 (Tanushree Kadu 6th; Diksha Patil 51st; Mahi Choudhari 53rd – p.c) bt Mumbai Republicans: 0. HT: 2-0

SF-2: PCMC Academy: 4 (Prajakta Mane 6th; Bhavana Khade 28th – p.c; Shalani Sakure 50th – p.s; Sanika Mane 54th) bt Excellence Hockey Academy: 1 (Neha Khairale 36th).