Hockey Pune Emerges State Champions

Hockey Pune
Share this News:

Pune, 11th November 2021: Hockey Pune once again proved themselves to be a superior side by defending the Hockey Maharashtra Senior Men State Championship 2021 title, at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar-Pimpri, here on Thursday.

In a one-sided final, Pune downed last edition runners up 5-0 after leading 2-0 at the half way stage.

In their quest for the title, Pune converted three penalty corners in their favour to make a claim on the title. Rohan Patil (2nd, 36th) converted two while Omkar Musale (59th) added the third.

Two field goals by Atharva Kamble 14th and skipper Talib Shah 33rd added up to the tally.

Pune could have added the sixth in the fourth quarter had it been for Rohan Patil converting a penalty stroke. Rohan’s effort was saved by Padmaraj Shinde.

In the third place play off, Hockey Osmanabad pipped Hockey Association Aurangabad 4-3. The winners were powered by a three-goal feat by Zishan Shaikh (8th, 19th, 25th) and Santosh Kasture (20th). Aurangabad kept pace with the game with Raj Pawar (1th) equalising 1-1, but then after trailing only went on to reduce the margin through Om Changle (44th) and Akshay Jadhav (45th).

HSSM Final hockey pune

Later, the prizes were given away at the hands; Krishna Prakash, Police Commissioner, Pimpri Chinchwad, and Associate VP Hockey Maharashtra and Rajesh Patil, PCMC Municipal Commissioner in the presence of of Mrs. Mai Dhore, Mayor, PCMC, Dr. Dhanraj Pillay, Padmashri, The other guests present were Uttam Kendale, Chairman, Sports Committee, PCMC, Mrs. Sushma Shinde, Asst. Commissioner Sports, PCMC, Jatin Desai, Zonal Manager, Bank of Maharashtra, Parag Oza (Treasurer, Hockey Maharashtra), Jacinta Jadhav, Vice President, Hockey Maharashtra, Hitesh Jain, President, Hockey Maharashtra, Manish Anand, Vice President, Hockey Maharashtra and President Hockey Pune, while Manoj Bhore, General Secretary, Hockey Maharashtra presided over the function and handed a vote of thanks


Final: Hockey Pune: 5 (Rohan Patil 2nd, 36th; Atharva Kamble 14th; Raib Shah 33rd; Omkar Musale 59th) bt Kolhapur: 0. HT: 5-0

III-Place: Hockey Osmanabad: 4 (Zishan Shaikh 8th, 19th, 25th; Santosh Kasture 20th) bt Hockey Association Aurangabad: 3 (Raj Pawar 14th; Om Changle 44th; Akshay Jadhav 45th). HT: 4-1