Indian Cricket Stars Set for Maharashtra Legislative Assembly Tribute After T20 World Cup Victory

Share this News:

Mumbai, 4th July 2024: Mumbai-based players of the Indian Cricket team are set to receive felicitation during the monsoon session of the Maharashtra Legislative Assembly at Vidhan Bhavan. Recently, Team India clinched the T20 World Cup in Barbados, defeating South Africa in a thrilling match. Upon their return, the team was honoured by Prime Minister Narendra Modi at his residence in Delhi before participating in a road show in Mumbai.

Shiv Sena MLA Pratap Sarnaik proposed the felicitation for Mumbai players Rohit Sharma, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Shivam Dube, and Suryakumar Yadav during the state assembly session. Sarnaik highlighted previous instances of such honours, citing felicitations of players like Ajit Agarkar, Rohit Sharma, Zaheer Khan, and Sachin Tendulkar in past years.

“I am a member of MCA and the state assembly, and I have conveyed the players’ willingness to participate,” Sarnaik stated, urging the assembly to finalize the details for the felicitation in consultation with senior members, Chief Minister Eknath Shinde, Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadanvis, and Ajit Pawar. Assembly Chairman Rahul Narwekar expressed support for the proposal, affirming plans to schedule the felicitation at an appropriate time and venue within the assembly premises.