IPL 2021: BCCI Announces IPL 2021 Schedule

Share this News:

Friyana Munshi

New Delhi, March 7, 2021: The Board of Control for Cricket India (BCCI) has announced the dates of IPL 2021. The 14th season of IPL will begin on April 9, while its finals will be played on May 30. The first match of IPL will be held on April 9 in Chennai, while the final match will take place on May 30 at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

The dates for this season were announced at the IPL Governing Council meeting on Sunday, with all matches to be played on a total of six Venues this time. These venues include Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Mumbai and Kolkata. The match to be played in Chennai on 9 April will be between Mumbai Indians led by Rohit Sharma and Royal Challengers Bangalore headed by Virat Kohli.

All playoff matches and final matches of the 14th season of IPL will be played at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. All the teams will play their respective matches on the four venues and a total of 56 league matches will be held of which 10 matches will be played in Chennai, Mumbai, Kolkata and Bengaluru each while 8 league matches will be held in Ahmedabad and Delhi each. All matches will be played on neutral venues and no team will play the match in their own regions. All teams will play their league matches on four of the six Venues.

This season, there will be 11 days where two matches will be played. On the day of the two matches, the afternoon match will commence at 3:30 PM while the night match shall begin at 7:30 PM. Last year it was held in the UAE due to the Covid-19, but this time the BCCI is confident that this season will be successfully held in India. Initially, all the matches will be played behind the closed door while later viewers may be allowed to enter.