Kolhapur thump CSK to win five on trot

Share this News:

Pune, June 16, 2024: Debutant Atharwa Dakway starred in PBG Kolhapur Tuskers’ easy win over Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings (CSK) during their Maharashtra Premier League (MPL) match at the MCA International Stadium here Sunday.

Along with Kolhapur’s in-form spinner Shreyas Chavan (1 for 21), the left-arm spinner Dakway (4-0-10-4) spun a web around CSK batters to bowl them out for 126 in 19.5 overs.

Chasing a small total, Kolhapur’s impact player, Ankeet Bawne (39, 26b, 6x4s), and Aniket Porwal (21, 16b, 4x4s) came out all guns blazing. Rajvardhan Hangargekar (1-26) removed the latter to give CSK a breakthrough. Kolhapur skipper Rahul Tripathi (16, 10b, 1×4, 1×6) and Bawne perished in quick succession but there were no slip-ups.

When it looked like Kolhapur would cruise to the target, rain forced a 40-minute rain delay. However, no overs were lost. On either side of the break, Siddharth Mhatre (34*, 13b, 6x4s, 1×6) and Sachin Dhas (12, 12b, 1×6) added quick-fire 44 off 24 balls to give PBG Kolhapur Tuskers an easy victory.

The result means Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings slip to third in the table, stranded on 10 points after 9 games and are yet to confirm their spot in the playoffs. Kolhapur, with their five-game winning streak, are now second, also on 10 points but with a superior net run rate.

Earlier, the second debutant – pacer Umar Shah (2-29) – gave Kolhapur an early breakthrough. He dismissed CSK skipper and last game’s centurion Murtuza Trunkwala (11, 12b, 2x4s) cheaply. His opening partner Om Bhosale (19, 18b, 3×0) soon followed him into the dugout.

Shreyas Chavan, Kolhapur’s in-form bowler forced Digvijay Patil (6, 5b, 1×4) to give a simple catch to Rahul Tripathi at covers.

After that, it was the Dakway show. Onkar Khatpe (26, 20b, 2x4s, 1×6) holed out to Nihal Tusamad at long-off. Saurabh Navale (7, 14b) was trapped in front. Impact player Harshal Kate (7, 9b, 1×4) castled and Rajvardhan Hangargekar (0, 1b) was caught at mid-off for a golden duck. From 66 for 3, CSK slumped to 89 for 7.

From that point onwards, Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings were never in contention to make a comeback into the game.

Brief scores: Chhatrapati Sambhaji Kings: all out 126 in 19.5 overs (Onkar Khatpe 26, Saurabh Singh 26; Atharwa Dakway 4-10) lost to PBG Kolhapur Tuskers: 127 for 3 in 12.4 overs (Ankeet Bawne 39, Siddharth Mhatre 34*; Hitesh Walunj 1-18)