Maharashtra: Nana Patole elected as state president of the Congress; Mohan Joshi and Ramesh Bagwe from Pune elected as vice presidents

Share this News:

Mumbai, February 6, 2021: All India Congress Committee has appointed office bearers in Maharashtra Congress on Friday. Nana Patole has been appointed as Congress’s state president after he resigned as Maharastra Assembly speaker on Thursday.

MLA Praniti Shinde, daughter of former Home Minister Sushil Kumar Shinde, and six others have been elected as the executive president. Ten people, including Ramesh Anandrao Bagwe and Mohan Joshi from Pune, have been elected as Congress state vice-presidents. The appointments have been made after the detailed discussion in Delhi.

A four-time MLA, Patole said that he would focus on bringing Congress in number one in the state. Former BJP MP had defeated NCP’s Praful Patel from Bhandara Gondiya in 2014 and had joined the Congress in December 2017. He has even fought the polls independently.

Patole has been known for his outspoken personality. In the past, he had also positioned himself as a pro-farmer leader. He had attacked Prime Minister Narendra Modi back in 2017. While leaving the party, he alleged that PM Modi always plays OBC card, but he has done nothing for the backward classes in reality. He had also reprimanded the Modi government’s implementation of the farm loans waiver scheme.

On the other hand, Chief Minister Uddhav Thackeray and Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar are upset about Patole’s resignation as they were not consulted before making the decision. The MVA allies fear that it will lend the change to destabilize the government. The decision has come before the state legislature’s crucial budget session, which begins on March 1. However, the Sena and NCP have also indicated that they will claim the position.

Nana Patole – State President

Executive Chairman

1. Shivajirao Moghe

2. Basavaraj Patil Murumkar

3. Mohammad Arif Naseem Khan

4. Kunal Rohidas Patil

5. Chandrakant Handore

6. Praniti Sushilkumar Shinde

Vice president

1. Shirish Madhukarrao Chaudhary

2. Ramesh Anandrao Bagwe (Pune)

3. Hussain Dalwai

4. Mohan Joshi (Pune)

5. Ranjit Pratap Kamble

6. Kailash Krishnarao Gorantyal

7. B.I. Nagarale

8. Sharad Aher

9. M. M. Shahik

10. Manik Motiram Jagtap