National Sports Day: Hockey Maharashtra Felicitates Players, Administrators

National sports
Share this News:

Pune, August 29, 2020: Hockey Maharashtra celebrated the National Sports Day in association with the Department of Sports & Youth Services, Maharashtra State, by honouring national hockey players who have represented the State at the national level, and administrators who have contributed to the growth of the sport and who have been a motivation to the upcoming players of Maharashtra. The award winners were given a memento, shawl and bouquet.

This year on the occasion of National Sports Day, which marks the 115th birth anniversary of Late Major Dhyanchand, Hockey Maharashtra announced the awards to the following players for being an inspiration and their contribution to the State of Maharashtra.

1. Posthumous Award to Late Ramesh Parshuram Gaikwad – Administrator

2. Benjamin (Benny) James Boodle —Senior Player and Administrator

3. Jeevan Vasant Garsund — Outstanding Player

4. Prakash Tukaram Sankpal — Outstanding Player

5. Wahid Akbar Pathan — Outstanding Player & Iron man

The Awards were given at the hands of Om Prakash Bakoria, Commissioner of Sports, presided by Balasaheb Landge, Secretary-General of Maharashtra Olympic Association. Vijay Prakash Srivastav, General Manager and Zonal Manager, Bank of Maharashtra Pune city was the chief guest in the presence of Olympian Ajit Lakra, Vikram Pillay, International Edgar Mascarenhas, in charge Joint Director Anand Venkeshwar, Sudhir More, Deputy Director and Assistant Director Suhas Patil, Hockey Maharashtra Vice President Manish Anand, Jacinta Jadhav and Treasurer Parag Oza.

Due to the present Guidelines with regards to the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic, only the awardees were allowed and proper precautions were taken. The award ceremony was held at the Shiv Chattrapati Sports Complex, Balewadi.

Last year this award was given to senior national players of Maharashtra Narendra Nimal, Sudhir Kshetre and Aziz Irani.