Pune: Big Blow To Shiv Sena As Woman Leader Asha Buchke Joins BJP With Supporters

Share this News:

Vivek Patil

Mumbai/Pune, 19th August 2021: Last month, Congress leader Kripashankar Singh joined the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). After that, now a big leader of Shiv Sena has joined BJP.

Asha Buchke, a Zilla Parishad member from the Pune district, joined BJP at a ceremony held in Mumbai in the presence of the former Chief Minister and Leader of Opposition Devendra Fadnavis.

Buchke had contested the Junnar Assembly elections as an independent candidate. The then MNS MLA Sharad Sonawane joined the Shiv Sena before the election. After that, Shiv Sena had fielded Sonawane from the Junnar constituency. It is said, therefore, Buchke got angry with Shiv Sena.

She had opposed Sonawane’s entry into the party at a meeting of office-bearers in Narayangaon. She was expelled from Shiv Sena due to the defeat of Shivajirao Adhalrao Patil in the Shirur Lok Sabha constituency.

“The fact that activists like Ashatai come to the BJP from the ruling party is a harbinger of victory. Along with Ashatai Buchke, thousands of activists are joining the BJP. She will be honored in the BJP. There is no difference between old and new. After the three-party alliance government came to power in the state, the BJP has a golden opportunity to expand its network. While in the alliance, the BJP did not get a chance to expand the party base,” said Fadnavis.

BJP state president Chandrakant Patil said, “Ashatai Buchke did not get justice in Shiv Sena. But she will be respected in the BJP and she will get justice. We will see her become an MLA when the assembly elections are held.”

Who is Asha Buchke?

Asha Buchke has been a member of Zilla Parishad since 2002. She was working as Shiv Sena’s Zilla Parishad group leader. She had contested the Assembly elections from the party in 2009 and 2014. In 2001, the Vidhan sabha ticket given to Sharad Sonawane was once again given to Ashatai Buchke. In this election, Asha Buchke had to accept defeat against Vallabh Benke by 6000 votes. She had contested Zilla Parishad elections from various groups in the taluka. In the Lok Sabha elections, the Shiv Sena party suffered the biggest blow in Junnar. Here, NCP candidate Amol Kolhe got a majority of 42,000 votes.