Pune Gears Up for ‘Friendship Karandak’ Cricket Championship by Punit Balan Group

Amitesh kumar friendship cup Punit Balan Group
Share this News:
Pune, 25th February 2024: The ‘Friendship Karandak’ Cricket Championship, organized by the Punit Balan Group, promises an exciting event with the participation of teams representing Ganapati Groups, Navratri Groups, and Dhol-Tasha teams in Pune. Scheduled from February 27 to March 1, 2024, the competition will feature 16 invited teams from various groups.
Punit Balan, the Director of Punit Balan Group, shared further insights into the tournament, highlighting its innovative approach by bringing together public Ganpati and Navratri groups alongside musical ensembles and media. Sponsored by Manikchand Oxyrich, this marks the third consecutive season of the tournament. The uniqueness of the event lies in the diverse participation of 16 invited teams, spanning Ganapati groups, Navratri groups, Dhol-Tasha teams, and the ‘Media,’ recognized as the fourth pillar of democracy. This inclusive approach adds a distinct charm to the cricket championship, making it a noteworthy highlight of the tournament.The Friendship Karandak Cricket Championship is set to feature prominent Ganpati groups including Kasba Ganapati Group, Shrimant Dagdusheth Halwai Group, Tambadi Jogeshwari Group, Guruji Talim Group, Tulshibaug Ganapati Group, Shrimant Bhausaheb Rangari Ganapati Trust, Akhil Mandai Group, and Garuda Ganapati Group. Additionally, noteworthy Navratri Group participants include the Shri Sai Mitra Group and Shree Mahalakshmi Mandir Group. The tournament also embraces the rhythmic beats of the Dhol Tasha Vadya Youth Instrumental Team, Sriram Team, Nadbrahma, and a media team consisting of journalists from newspapers and news channels, forming cricket teams under the banners of Ganapati Groups, Navratri Groups, Dhol-Tasha Team, and Media.

All the action is scheduled to take place at the Late Sou. Laxmibai Rajaram Shinde High School ground in Sahakar Nagar. The tournament structure comprises league and knockout stages, with the top 8 teams advancing to the knockout stage. Among the 16 participating teams are Guruji Talim Titans, Mahalakshmi Marvix, Mandai Masters, Kasba Super Kings, Garuda Strikers, Sai Power Hitters, Dagdusheth Warriors, Rangari Royals, Tulshibagh Tuskers, Jogeshwari Jaguars, Nadbraham Drummers, Shriram Team, Nadbraham Sarvavadak, Shivamudra Dhol Tasha, Yuva Yoddhas, and Media Writers. This diverse lineup promises an exciting and competitive cricket event.

The victorious team in the upcoming Friendship Karandak Cricket Championship will be awarded a prize of Rs 2 lakh 11 thousand along with a trophy, while the runner-up will receive Rs 1 lakh 11 thousand and a trophy.

In addition to team prizes, individual excellence will be recognized with various awards. The best player of the series will be presented with a reward of Rs 51 thousand and an electric bike. Furthermore, the standout batsman, bowler, wicketkeeper, and fielder of the tournament will each receive Rs 21 thousand along with a medal. The team demonstrating exemplary sportsmanship and winning the Fair Play award will be granted a prize of Rs 11 thousand. Additionally, a cash prize of Rs 5000 will be awarded to the best player of each match.

The tournament’s inauguration is scheduled for 8:30 am and will be conducted by Pune Police Commissioner Amitesh Kumar. Notably, in the 2022 edition of the tournament, Sai Power Hitters claimed the title, while Jogeshwari Jaguars secured the runner-up position. The upcoming competition promises to be an exciting showcase of cricket talent and sportsmanship.