Pune: Notorious Vehicle Thieves Arrested by Pimpri Chinchwad Police, 14 Vehicles Seized

Share this News:

Reported by Varad Bhatkhande

Alandi, 14th May 2024: The Anti-Robbery Squad of the Pimpri Chinchwad Police Commissionerate (PCPC) has arrested serial vehicle thieves, resulting in the seizure of 14 vehicles valued at over Rs 6.5 lakh. The arrested thieves are notorious and have 14 cases registered against him in various Police Stations across the Pune district and neighbouring areas. This action was taken by the Anti-Robbery Squad near Alandi Bus Stop on Thursday, May 9th.

The notorious thieves have been identified as Shubham Ashokrao Londhe (aged 21, resident of Alandi) and Sachin Samadhan Dalvi (aged 23, resident of Alandi). They have been arrested in connection with a case registered at the Alandi Police Station under IPC Section 379 (punishment for theft).

Against the backdrop of the Lok Sabha Elections in Pune yesterday, the PCPC initiated a proactive search for documented criminals to deter and solve crimes. Acting on information from a confidential source, the Anti-Robbery Squad received intelligence that two individuals would be arriving near Alandi Bus Stop with stolen vehicles. The police set up a trap and arrested the suspects, Londhe and Dalvi.

Upon interrogation regarding the two-wheelers, it came to light that these vehicles were the same ones involved in a case registered at the Alandi Police Station. Further questioning revealed that these notorious individuals are history sheeters with cases registered against them in multiple police stations across the Pune District.

The police confiscated a Bajaj Pulsar, a Bajaj Avenger, and 12 Hero Splendors. As a result, cases registered against them in Alandi, Walunj, Mahalunge, Loni Kalbhor, Shikrapur, Sangamner, Ale Phata, and Chikhali Police Stations were successfully resolved.

The operation was conducted under the supervision of Pimpri Chinchwad Commissioner of Police Vinay Kumar Choubey, Additional Commissioner of Police Vasant Pardeshi, Deputy Commissioner of Police (Crime) Sandeep Doifode, and Assistant Commissioner of Police (Crime 1) Balasaheb Kopnar.

The Anti-Robbery Squad, led by Senior Police Inspector Balkrishna Sawant and comprising Police Sub Inspector Bharat Gosavi, and Police Constables Mahesh Khande, Rahul Kharge, Umesh Pulgam, Vikrant Gaikwad, Nitin Lokhande, Ashish Bankar, Pravin Kamble, Sagar Shedge, Pravin Mane, Ganesh Kokane, Audumbar Ronge, Govind Supe, Amar Kadam, and Samir Raskar, executed the operation successfully.