Pune Police Seize MD Drugs Worth Rs 3.5 Crores, 3 Persons Arrested; Foreigners Also Suspected

Share this News:

Sumit Singh & Mubarak Ansari

Pune, 19th February 2024: The sleuths from the Crime Branch of Pune City police today arrested three persons and seized MD drugs worth Rs 3.5 crores from their possession.

Acting on a tip-off received by policeman Vitthal Salunkhe, a team led by Police Inspector Shabbir Sayyed of Crime Branch unit 1 nabbed a person sitting in a car near 276, Somwar Peth. The person was identified as Vaibhav alias Pintya Bharat Mane, who is a criminal on police record with 36 cases, and 500 gm MD drugs worth Rs one lakh. His driver Ajay Amarnath Karosiya (35) was also caught.

Addressing a press conference, Police Commissioner Amitesh Kumar said, “Based on the information from these two persons, five teams were sent to Vishrantwadi area where the supplier Haidar Shaikh, a criminal on record, was caught with 500 gm MD worth Rs one lakh. During investigation, our team raided godown of Shaikh in Vishrantwadi area and till now we have recovered MD worth Rs 3.5 crores.”

When asked about the source of the drugs, the City police chief informed, “Shaikh has told us during interrogation that a foreigner national had given him the drugs for selling. Further investigation is going on.”

Policeman Salunkhe has been rewarded with Rs one lakh for the actionable tip-off.

The operation was conducted under the guidance of Police Commissioner Amitesh Kumar, Joint CP Praveen Pawar, Additional CP (Crime Branch) Shailesh Balkawde and DCP (Crime) Amol Zende.

The team included ACPs Sunil Tambe, Satish Govekar, Senior Police Inspectors Shabbir Sayyed, Ajay Waghware, Rajendra Landge, Anita Hiwarkar, Vinayak Gaikwad, API Babar, Gaikwad, PSI Ramesh Tapkir, Shelke, Gore, Kolekar, Magdum, Dev, Naik, Jadhav, Shinde, Mokashi, and police personnel Vithal Salunkhe, Abhinav Ladkat, Datta Sonawane, Nilesh Sable, Rahul Makhre, Aniket Babar, Shashikant Darekar, Shubham Desai, Shankar Kumbhar, Ayyaz Dadikar, Sujit Wadekar, Santosh Deshpande, and Nikhil Jadhav.