Pune: Supriya Sule and Sunetra Pawar File Nominations for Lok Sabha; Ajit Pawar’s Wild Card Entry in Baramati?

Share this News:

Baramati, 16th April 2024: On Monday (15th April), four independent candidates submitted their nomination papers to contest the Baramati Lok Sabha constituency. Additionally, 15 candidates applied to run in the election. Among them are prominent candidates such as Sunetra Pawar and Ajit Pawar, representing the Mahayuti, Supriya Sule from Mahavikas Aghadi, and Sachin Dodake from the NCP Sharad Chandra Pawar Party.

The process of filing nomination papers for the Baramati constituency began on March 12. Since Saturday and Sunday were holidays, the four independent candidates—Mahesh Babar, Shubhangi Dhaygude, Sandeep Devkate, and Sachin Agwane—submitted their applications on Monday. So far, a total of 15 candidates have applied in this constituency, while 55 candidates have obtained applications. The application deadline is set for April 19 at 3 pm.

Moreover, NCP has submitted applications for Sunetra Pawar and Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar, who is also the Guardian Minister of the Pune District. Additionally, Supriya Sule and Sachin Dodke have applied on behalf of the NCP Sharad Chandra Pawar Party. Other candidates from parties such as the Bahujan Samaj Party, Desh Janhit Party, Akhil Bharatiya Janata Dal, and Republican Party of India (Athawale) have also taken applications from the office of the Election Returning Officer in Baramati.

Is Ajit Pawar BJP’s backup?

Maharashtra Deputy Chief Minister Ajit Pawar and the BJP are working to avoid any conflicts in the Baramati Lok Sabha constituency. Sunetra Pawar, wife of Ajit Pawar, is the candidate of Mahayuti. Ajit Pawar is prepared to be an alternate candidate if Sunetra’s nomination is cancelled for any reason, to maintain BJP’s position in the prestigious constituency. Precautions are being taken to prevent any controversies during the election, and Ajit Pawar aims to keep the election dignified. A meeting will be held to strengthen the party’s stance, and preparations include inviting prominent leaders such as Chief Minister Eknath Shinde and Deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis.