Pune: Top seed Lutkin upset at Gadre Marine MSLTA – ITF Grade 3 Junior Tennis Championship

Share this News:

Pune, 6th December 2023: Hiromasa Koyama of Japan created the biggest upset knocking out top seed Ivan Iutkin of Russia 6-4,1-6, 6-1 to enter the singles quarter finals on a day of six other upsets at the Gadre Marine MSLTA – ITF Junior Grade 3 U18 tennis Championships organized by Deccan Gymkhana Under the auspices of ITF, Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association and Pune Metropolitan District Tennis Association to be played at the Deccan Gymkhana Tennis Courts

In the other upset involving India top player Moise Kouame of France seeded fifteenth came back from 1-4 down to reek 5 games in a row to upset third seed Rethin Pranav Senthil Kumar 6-3 4-6 6-4 . Pranav winner of two earlier legs looked tired after 18 days of matches

In other upset Kandhavel Mahalingam Akilandeshwari upset sixth seed Hitesh Chauhan 6-3 2-6 6-2 , eleventh seeded Aarjun Pandit upset eighth seeded Juan Kim of Korea 7-5 6-3, Another Indian BushanHaobam upset tenth seed Jaden Dewandaka Tan of Indonesia 6-4 5-7 6-4 to move into the last eight

In the girls section eleventh seed Ariana Gogulina of Kazakhstan upset eighth seed and fancied Rishitha Reddy Basireddy 7-5 2-6 7-6(2) while Amodini Naik recorded a easy 6-1,6-4 win against fifth seed Sohini Mohanty

Local boy and wild card entry Arnav Paparkar justified the organisers faith reaching the quarter finals pulling off a 6-3,6-0 win against fellow Indian Dhiraj Reddy Vennapusa 6-3 6-0.

Results: Pre-Quarterfinal Round: Boys:
Hiromasa Koyama (Jpn) [16] bt Ivan Iutkin [1] 6-4,1-6, 6-1;
Kandhavel Mahalingam Akilandeshwari (Ind) bt Hitesh Chauhan (Ind) [6] 6-3 2-6 6-2
Kazuma Kimura (Jpn) [4] bt Venkat Rishi Batlanki (Usa) 7-5 2-6 6-4
Moise Kouame (Fra) [15] bt Rethin Pranav Senthil Kumar (Ind) [3] 6-3 4-6 6-4
Arnav Paparkar (Ind) bt Dhiraj Reddy Vennapusa (Ind) 6-3 6-0
Aarjun Pandit (Ind) [11] bt Juan Kim (Kor) [8]7-5 6-3
Kriish Tyagi (Ind) [2] bt Daniil Stepanov[13] 6-3 6-4;
Bushan Haobam(Ind) bt Jaden Dewandaka Tan (Ina) [10] 6-4 5-7 6-4

Amodini Naik (Ind) bt Sohini Mohanty(Ind) [5] 6-1 6-4
Maaya Revathi (Ind) [1] bt Aishi Bisht (Ind) 7-5 6-4
Yasmin Vavrova (Svk) [7] bt Snigdha Kanta (Ind)6-1, 6-3;
Ariana Gogulina(Kaz) [11] bt Rishitha Reddy Basireddy (Ind) [8]7-5 2-6 7-6(2)
Harshini N Nagaraj (Ind) bt Aakruti Sonkusare(Ind) 6-2 6-1
Laxmisiri Dandu(IND bt Sreenidhi Balaji (Ind) 6-4(4) 3-6 6-4
Mandegar Farzami(IRI) [2] bt Jannat Chiripal(Ind) [14] 6-3 6-0