Qualifier Bhasin registers first upset topples eighth seeded Yadav at Aryan Pumps – MSLTA WOMEN’S $15K TENNIS TOURNAMENT

Share this News:

Nagpur, 1st March 2022:  Qualifier Smriti Bhasin recorded the first upset as she toppled eighth seeded Mihika Yadav  6-3, 6-1 to enter the second round in the singles at the Aryan  Pumps – MSLTA Womens’ $15K    ITF World Tennis Tour Event  being organised by Nagpur District  Hard Court Tennis Association (NDHTA)under the auspices of ITF , AITA and MSLTA  with MSLTA and played at MSLTA Tennis Academy at  Ramnagar, Nagpur.


In the closest match of the day between two wildcard entrants Yubarani Banerjee edged out a fighting  Ishwari Matere 6-4, 2-6, 6-7(5) in a 2 hour 25 minute thriller .


Denmark’s Elena Jamshidi now a regular in  India had to put in all her effort to stave off the challenge of another Wildcard    Sudipta Kumar before winning  6-2, 2-6, 6-4 in 2 hours and 24 minutes .


Another qualifier Prathyusha Rachapudi  rallied past  Avishka Gupta  6-2, 5-7, 6-3 in the longest match of the day lasting 2 hours 38 minutes in a cth that saw 21 double faults been served by both players


State player Akanksha  Nitture gave a good account of herself in the first set against fourth seeded Punnin Kovapitukted of Thailand, but  the Thai player winner of the leg at Gurugram won  7-6(3), 6-1 in 1 hour and 33 minutes


Humera Baharmus ,Sahaja Yamalapalli , Jennifer Luikham were the other players to move into the round of sixteen


In another upset in the women’s doubles event  Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipathy   in tandem with  Sathwika Sama upset the finalists of the last week in Ahmedabad   and fourth seeds Sharmada Balu and  Sravya Shivani Chilakapudi 7-6(4), 6-2 to enter the quarterfinals .


The tournament was inaugurated at the hands of Sunil Kedar Minister of  Sports and Youth Affairs Govt of Maharashtra,  Mr Parinay Fuke MLC , Dr Praniti Fuke  , Corporator , Life President of MSLTA Sharad Kannamwar , Hon Sec Sunder Iyer , Mr Kumar Kale President NDHTA  presided over the function . Mr Rajiv Desai Jt

Secretary MSLTA , Darshan Dakhsindas , Mr Ashok Bhiwapurkar , Rajan Nair exe Members of NDHTA were present on the occasion.

Mr Sudhir Bhiwpurkar Treasurer MSLTA and tournament Director Welcomed the guests  , VIkram Naidu  proposed the vote of thanks  Vijay Naidu conducted the proceedings

Singles: First Round:

Yubarani Banerjee (IND) bt Ishwari Matere (IND) 6-4, 2-6, 6-7(5);
Sahaja Yamalapalli (IND) bt Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi (IND) 6-1, 6-0;
Punnin Kovapitukted (THA) [4] bt Akanksha Nitture (IND)7-6(3), 6-1;
Jennifer Luikham (IND) [6]  bt Arthi Muniyan (IND) 6-0, 6-2;
Elena Jamshidi (DEN) bt Sudipta Kumar (IND) 6-2, 2-6, 6-4;
Smriti Bhasin (IND) bt Mihika Yadav (IND) [8] 6-3, 6-1;
Humera Baharmus (IND) bt Kashish Bhatia (IND) 6-3, 6-4;
Prathyusha Rachapudi (IND) bt Avishka Gupta (IND) 6-2, 5-7, 6-3


Sai Samhitha Chamarthi (IND) / Soha Sadiq (IND) bt Sara Gajbhiye (IND) / Sai Dedeepya Yeddula (IND) 6-0, 6-0;
Dakshata Patel (IND) / Ishwari MATERE (IND) bt Snehal Mane (IND) / Akanksha Nitture (IND) 6-2 Retd;
Nidhi Chilumula (IND) [3] / Saumya Vig (IND) bt Sudipta Kumar (IND) / Riya Uboveja (IND)  6-3, 6-1;
Shrivalli Rashmikaa Bhamidipaty (IND) / Sathwika Sama (IND)  bt Sharmada Balu (IND) / Sravya Shivani Chilakalapudi (IND) [4] 7-6(4), 6-2.