Seeds Rodionova, Pigossi bow out; Yamalapalli/ Adkar exit doubles at L&T Mumbai Open Tennis Championships

Share this News:

Mumbai, February 7: Fourth seed Arina Rodionova and fifth seed Laura Pigossi bowed out in the second round of the singles event at the L&T Mumbai Open WTA 125K Series Tennis Championships, being organized by the Maharashtra State Lawn Tennis Association (MSLTA) and the Cricket Club of India (CCI), on Wednesday.

Rodionova was defeated in straight sets by Dutchwoman Arianna Hartono 4-6, 4-6 while Pigossi was knocked out by Australia’s Storm Hunter 3-6, 3-6.

With this, the top five seeds of the tournament have failed to make it past the second round. Sixth seed Darja Semenistaja is now the highest seed left in the singles event as she advanced to the quarter-finals with a 2-6, 6-4, 6-4 win over France’s Amandine Hesse.

In the doubles draw, the Indian duo of Sahaja Yamalapalli/ Vaishnavi Adkar went down fighting to second seeds Sabrina Santamaria/ Dalila Jakupovic 3-6, 6-7.

Yamalapalli, who knocked out top seed Kayla Day in the first round, will be back in action on Thursday for her second round singles match against Polina Kudermetova while Shrivalli Bhamidipaty, who knocked out second seed Nao Hibino on Tuesday, plays Russian teen Alina Korneeva in the evening session later today.

L&T Mumbai Open WTA 125K Series Results, Wednesday February 7, 2024

Singles First Round

Arianne Hartono (NED) def. (4) Arina Rodionova (AUS) 6-4, 6-4

Storm Hunter (AUS) def. (5) Laura Pigossi (BRA) 6-3. 6-3

(6) Darja Semenistaja (LAT) def. Amandine Hesse (FRA) 2-6, 6-4, 6-4

Shrivalli Bhamidipaty (IND) vs. Alina Korneeva

Doubles First Round

(2) Sabrina Santamaria (USA)/ Dalila Jakupovic (SLO) def. Sahaja Yamalapalli (IND) / Vaishnavi Adkar (IND) 6-3, 7-6 (1)

Sapfo Sakellaridi (GRE)/ Olivia Tjandramulia (AUS)/ def Himeno Sakatsume (JPN)/ Ekaterina Makarova 6-2, 6-3.

Panna Udvardy (HUN)/ Natela Dzalamidze (GEO) def. En-Shuo Liang (TPE)/ Chia Yi Tsao (TPE) 4-6, 6-4, 10-7

About the L&T Mumbai Open WTA 125 Series

L&T Mumbai Open Tennis Championships is returning to Mumbai after a gap of six years, with reigning Australian Open champion Aryna Sabalenka winning the inaugural edition in 2017 as a teenager and Thailand’s Luksika Kumkhum winning the title in 2018.