Tight Vigilance in Pune: Extensive Security Measures for Lok Sabha Elections

Share this News:

Reported by Mubarak Ansari

Pune, 12th May 2024: As the polling day for the Pune Lok Sabha Constituency approaches, stringent security measures are being put in place across the city. Scheduled for Monday, the elections will witness the deployment of a significant number of security personnel to ensure peaceful conduct.


A comprehensive security strategy, guided by Commissioner of Police Amitesh Kumar and Joint Commissioner of Police Praveen Pawar, has been meticulously planned to maintain law and order during the Lok Sabha elections in Pune. The initiative aims to prevent any untoward incidents and ensure a smooth voting process.


To execute this plan effectively, a robust force comprising five thousand police personnel, two thousand Home Guard personnel, units of the Central Industrial Security Force (CISF), and units of the State Reserve Police Force (SRPF) will be stationed in various areas of the city.


On the day of polling, heightened security measures will be implemented not only at the polling stations within the city but also in the suburban regions. Under the guidance of Commissioner Amitesh Kumar and Joint Commissioner Pawar, the deployment will include four Additional Commissioners of Police, nine Deputy Commissioners of Police, 17 ACPs, 64 Senior Police Inspectors, and 296 Assistant Inspectors, along with a contingent of five thousand 584 police personnel and two thousand Home Guards.


To address the unique security challenges posed by certain polling stations, special attention will be given to those with more than five polling booths. Specifically, areas such as Vadgaon Sheri, Kothrud, Parvati, and Shivajinagar assembly constituencies, where such polling stations are concentrated, will receive additional security measures.


It’s worth noting that part of some part of Shirur Lok Sabha Constituency falls under the jurisdiction of the Pune Police Commissionerate. Hence, security arrangements will be extended to cover both Pune Lok Sabha and Shirur Lok Sabha constituencies.