28th State Police Games

just pune things app
Share this News:

Vaibhav, Puja emerge fastest sprinters

 SRPF Range and Kolhapur Range to clash in the hockey final

 Pune, January 6: Vaibhav Hedge and Puja Verger emerged as the fastest men and women of the meet after they won the 100m dash in inspiring timings, in the athletics events in the 28th State Police Games at the Baburao Sanas Ground here on Wednesday.

Thane City Police’s Vaibhav Hedge clocked 10.08 seconds to win the ‘blue riband’ event of the athletics meet ahead of Deepak Bacharkar of Training Directorate. Hedge’s gold medal effort was almost one second faster than the second-placed Bacharkar (11.01). Kokan Range’s Rahul Kale finished in the bronze medal position clocking 11.02 seconds.

Pune City Police could finally rejoice as they won an important athletics gold medal thanks to sprinter Puja Verger’s 100m gold medal.

Puja clocked 12.07 seconds to beat Sonia Mokal (13,01) of Mumbai City Police. Training Directorate’s Sonali Zende (13.04) settled for the bronze medal.

Anil Yenapure of Kolhapur Range won the men’s 400m hurdles event in 55.06 seconds, beating SRPF’s Dayanand Yadav (55.09) by three hundredths of a second. Sambhaji Hatkar of Railways Range won the bronze medal with a timing of 56.09.

The women’s one-lap hurdles gold medal went to Training Directorate’s Madhuri Tidame, who clocked a wee bit slow time of 1 minute 12.07 seconds. Rekha Latkar of Amravati Range was more than two seconds slower and settled for the silver medal in 1:14.03 and Sunita Patil of Training Directorate clocked 1:16.06 to finish third.

In the men’s section, two more gold medals went to Training Directorate with Santosh Mali leaping to 1.90 metres to win the high jump title and 4x100m team winning the relay in 42.08 seconds breaking previous record of Mumbai City (43.41).

SRPF meets Kolhapur in hockey final

The State Reserve Police Force (SRPF) Range scored an emphatic 3-1 win over Pune City Police in the men’s hockey semifinal to set up summit clash with Kolhapur Range.

In the second semifinal, Kolhapur Range defeated Nagpur City Police 5-1 at the SRPF ground here.




100m: 1. Vaibhav Hedge (Thane City) 10.08s, 2. Deepak Bacharkar (Training Directorate) 11.01, 3. Rahul Kale (Kokan Range) 11.02.

400m hurdles: 1. Anil Yenapure (Kolhapur Range) 55.06s, 2. Dayanand Yadav (SRPF) 55.09, 3. Sambhaji Hatkar (Railway Range) 56.09.

High jump: 1. Santosh Mali (Training Directorate) 1.90m, 2. Vijay Gavit (Nashik Range) 1.78, 3. Nikhil Sarnobat (Mumbai Range) 1.75.

4x100m Relay: 1. Training Directorate (Deepak Basarkar, Amrut Tivale, Amol Lokhande, Rajkumar Kamble) 42.8s, 2. SRPF 43.00, 3. Kolhapur Range 43.3.

Cross Country (12 kms): 1. Sachin Garote (SRPF) 37:46.45, 2. Balaji Kamble (SRPF) 37:48.44, 3. Hemant Gavit (SRPF) 37:49.61


100m: 1. Puja Verger (Pune City) 12.07s, 2. Sonia Mokal (Mumbai City) 13.01, 3. Sonali Zende (Training Directorate) 13.04.

400m hurdles: 1. Madhuri Tidame (Trianing Directorate) 1:12.07, 2. Rekha Latkar (Amravati Range) 1:14.03, 3. Sunita Patil (Training Directorate) 1:16.06.

Discus throw: 1. Renuka Devade (Nanded Range) 29.95m, 2. Reshma Kshirsagar (Training Directorate) 27.98, 3. Dhanashree Ghadi (Kokan Rnage) 27.56.

4x100m Relay: 1. Mumbai City (Soniya Mokal, Teja Naik, Sima Ghatge, Swati Bhilare) 52.3s, 2. Training Directorate 53.0, 3. Nagpur Range 54.2.

Cross Country (8kms): 1. Sangeeta Naik (Mumbai City) 28:27.51, 2. Varsha Bhawari (Mumbai city) 29:25.72, 3. Sonal Mokal (Mumbai City) 29:39.87




SRPF Range beat Pune City Police 3-1

Kolhapur Range by Nagpur City 5-1.



Nagpur Range by Nagpur City 44-22; Amravati Range bt Railway Range 36-12, Nashik Range bt Kolhapur Range 29-28; Training Directorate bt Mumbai City Police 28-5.