Central Railway Dominates 3rd MJ Cup Invitational Hockey Tournament 2023 for Men and Women

Share this News:

Pune, 15th December 2023: PCMC Hockey Academy, Central Railway Pune and Krida Prabodhini were off winning notes and grabbed full points in their respective opening group encounters in the 3rd MJ Cup Invitational Hockey Tournament (Men and Women) 2023 at the Maj. Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium at the Nehrunagar-Pimpri on Friday.

The tournament being held under the aegis of Hockey Maharashtra and organized by Excellency Hockey Academy in joint association with the Dhanraj Pillay Foundation.

On a day when three matches of the five took place, PCMC Hockey Academy came from behind to down host’s Excellency Hockey Academy 3-1 in Pool-A. A goal each by Sourabh Patil (35th) off a penalty stroke, Jay Kale (38th) off a penalty corner and Abhishek Mane (57th) was enough for PCMC to walk out winners.

For Excellency Hockey Academy it was Navjyot Singh (6th) converting a penalty corner to give his team the lead.

Pool-B had a high scoring encounter as Central Railway Pune downed a seven-man Kids XI 10-0. Reuben Kedari (17th, 22nd, 37th) netted three, Bhushan Dhere (2nd, 8th) and Avadudh Solankar (7th, 33rd) and Vishal Pillay (47th,, 55th) scored a brace each and Vinod Nimbhore (19th) accounted for the other goal.

In Pool-C, Krida Prabodhini also had a 10-0 victory beating Friends Union 10-1. Prajwal Moharkar (8th, 9th, 37th, 48th) was the hero of the game netting four goals. Adding to the tally was Rahul Shinde (21st, 33rd), Dhairyashil Jadhav (3rd), Yogesh Borkar (13th), Rohan Patil (43rd) and Sachin Rajgade (56th). Friends Union had Rehan Shaikh (25th) pull one back,


Pool-A: SRPF, Pune bt Rovers Academy – Match forfeited

PCMC Hockey Academy: 3 (Sourabh Patil 35th – p.s; Jay Kale 38th – p.c; Abhishek Mane 57th) bt Excellency Hockey Academy: 1 (Navjyot Singh 6th – p. c). HT: 1-0

Pool-B: Central Railway Pune: 10 (Bhushan Dhere 2nd, 8th; Avadudh Solankar 7th, 33rd; Reuben Kedari 17th, 22nd, 37th; Vinod Nimbhore 19th; Vishal Pillay 47th p.s, 55th) bt Kids XI: 0. HT: 6-0

Pool-C: Krida Prabodhini: 10 (Dhairyashil Jadhav 3rd p.c; Prajwal Moharkar 8th, 9th, 37th, 48th; Yogesh Borkar 13th; Rahul Shinde 21st, 33rd; Rohan Patil 43rd – p.c; Sachin Rajgade 56th) bt Friends Union: 1. (Rehan Shaikh 25th). HT: 5-1

Pool-D: Poona Hockey Academy bt FCI, Pune – Match forfeited