Defence Minister’s Scientific Advisor Dr. Satish Reddy to present ‘DEMA Excellence Awards’ on Saturday

Share this News:

Pune:- Defence Equipment Manufacturers Association, DEMA, is an association of more than 50 engineering industries in and around Pune. DEMA members are engaged in providing different engineering products and services to the research department of Defence ministry since last 25 years. The Excellence Awards given by the association will be presented on Saturday, 25th February. Mr. Shirish Deshmukh, President, DEMA gave this information in a press conference today. Dr. Vishwas Udpikar, Uday Tembe, Shrikant Bagul and others were present on the occasion.

Giving details about the awards, Shirish Deshmukh said, this is the 18th year of the Awards. India’s young scientist and Scientific Advisor to the Defence Minister, Dr. Satish Reddy will chair the award function this year. The function is organized at Hotel Garden Court, NDA Road, Chandani Chowk, Pune at 6.00 pm on 25th February, 2017. Dr. Reddy is a scientist to the core and has worked closely with former president late Dr. A. P. J. Abul Kalam, especially on INS Inertial Navigation Systems used in missiles. He has obtained many degrees and has received many awards for his contribution.

Speaking on the occasion, Dr. Vishwas Udpikar said, the awards are given to the members of DEMA who produce suitable and useful products, systems, projects, algorithms or special items for the country’s defence department. This year eleven members of DEMA will be felicitated with the award.

In order to develop important products and systems for the defence department the industries need to combine their long experience, research, perseverance, hard work and knowledge. The awards inspire these units to work better for the future. The eleven companies to be felicitated this year include: 1) Inivit System, Pune (Shrikant Bagul and Vaidehi Fadnis), 2) Aron, Pune (Ashwini Shukla and Abhijit Bokil), 3) Canopus Instruments, Kalyan, Thane (Abhijit Kulkarni) 4) Industrial Controls & Automation, Pune (Uday Tembe and Amol Tembe), 5) Theta Control, Pune (Raja Mehbubani), 6) Digitronics, Pune (Vijay Damle), 7) Dran Engineers, Pune (Anil Nagpure), 8) Shree Systems, Pune (Uday Cherekar and Aniruddha Sohoni), 9) Wavelet Technologies, Pune (Dr. Vishwas Udpikar), 10) Badve Engineers Pvt. Ltd., Pune (Jayant Badve and Satyajit Badve), 11) Techofor (Pravin Dhole).

Shirish Deshmukh further said that, a Members Directory of DEMA will also be published at the hands of Dr. Reddy. After that Dr. Reddy will give a presentation of future technology use in wars, current affairs in the outside world, our defence preparedness and the role of small/medium scale industries in it and how they can be integrated with the Make in India concept. The function will end with a recital of our national anthem.

Speaking on the occasion Uday Tembe said, an exhibition of major products developed by DEMA members will be put up at the venue. 16 of the DEMA members will display their product range here. Dr. Satish Reddy will first visit the exhibition and discuss about the products with each member. The exhibits will include a fuse used in every bomb or for triggering a missile; fiber optic communication (RF), image processing for remote warfare etc. The stalls will comprise various technology spectrums of DEMA members.