ISRO to launch 36 missions including 10 earth observation satellites in 2020-21 

Share this News:

New Delhi, March 19, 2020: Union Minister of State (Independent Charge) Development of North-Eastern Region (DoNER), MoS PMO, Personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Atomic Energy and Space, Dr Jitendra Singh said that Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) has planned 36 missions including satellites and launch vehicles for the fiscal year 2020-21. In written reply to a question in the Rajya Sabha today, he said that ISRO will send up 10 earth observation satellites during 2020-21.  Details of the missions are as follow:

  • Earth observation satellite                               10
  • Communication satellite                                 3
  • Navigation satellite                                         2
  • Space science satellite                                     3
  • Technology Demonstration                             1
  • PSLV                                                              10
  • GSLV MK II                                                  3
  • GSLV MK III                                                 1
  • Small Satellite Launch Vehicle                       2
  • Gaganyaan ( Unmanned)                                1

   During the current fiscal year of 2019-20, till date 11 out of the total targeted missions have been completed. Details of which are as follows:

  • Earth observation satellite                               4
  • Communication satellite                                 1
  • Space science satellite                                     1
  • PSLV                                                              4
  • GSLV MK III                                                  1

 Indian Space Programme is focused on peaceful uses of Outer Space.  Towards this, Space Technology should be used for benefit of the country and society, provide solutions for developmental activities and address problems of the society at large, Dr Singh added.