Jalgaon, Osmanabad, Aurangabad enter quarterfinals of Hockey Maharashtra Senior Men State Championship 2021

Share this News:

Pune, 8th November 2021: Hockey Jalgaon, Hockey Association Aurangabad and Hockey Osmanabad booked themselves a berth in the quarterfinals after registering huge wins in the Hockey Maharashtra Senior Men State Championship 2021, at the Major Dhyanchand Hockey Stadium, Nehrunagar-Pimpri, here on Monday.

Aurangabad led by a two-goal effort by Mohit Kathoute (5th, 15th) scored a 6-2 win over Hockey Dhule. Aurangabad dominated the match from the start taking a 2-0 lead in the first three minutes with Raj Pawar (2nd) and Harsh Kathote (3rd) netting.

Mohit (5th, 15th) covered two penalty corners to increase Ahmednagar’s lead to 4-0 at half time.

After the breather, Aurangabad had Om Changle (43rd) and Akash Jamdhade (48th) swell Aurangabad’s lead to 6-0.

Dhule in the fourth quarter pulled back two goals when Sohel Shaikh (52nd, 54th) scored.

Later, Osmanabad spanked Hockey Solapur 10-3 with seven of their players scoring goals. Zishan Shaikh 7th, 40th), Swapnil Garsund (9th, 39th), Aifaz Sayyed (12th, 57th) scored a brace each.

The other scorers were Mohseen Mulla (19th); Santosh Kasture (20th); Karan Durga (27th) and Musa Torgal (60th).

Osmanabad led 6-0 at half time.

Solapur got their act together in the second session and had Narasappa Bhosale (41st); Ajay More (43th) and Sanket Masute (53rd) reduce the margin.

In the last match of the day, Jalgaon pipped Hockey Sangli 3-2 in the shoot out after playing out a 1-1 draw at the end of the fourth quarter.

Aurangabad, Osmanabad, Jalgaon thus join last year’s semi-finalists Raigad, Nanded, Pune and Kolhapur in the last-8.

The quarterfinal line is as follows; Hockey Raigad plays Aurangabad, Hockey Nanded plays Osmanabad, Hockey Pune plays Jalgaon and Hockey Kolhapur awaits the winner of the Hockey Nandurbar and Hockey Ahmednagar encounter.


Pre Quarterfinals: Hockey Jalgaon 1, 3 (Mohsin Shaikh 58th; Faraz Tadvi, Akbar Khan, Nadim Qureshi) bt Hockey Sangli: 1,2 (Pankaj Patil 11th; Pankaj Patil, Sabhuraj Shinde) – via Shoot Out; Hockey Association Aurangabad: 6 (Raj Pawar 2nd; Harsh Kathote 3rd; Mohit Kathoute 5th, 15th; Om Changle 43rd; Akash Jamdhade 48th) bt Hockey Dhule: 2 (Sohel Shaikh 52nd, 54th); Hockey Osmanabad: 10 (Zishan Shaikh 7th, 40th; Swapnil Garsund 9th, 39th; Aifaz Sayyed 12th, 57th; Mohseen Mulla 19th; Santosh Kasture 20th; Karan Durga 27th; Musa Torgal 60th) bt Hockey Solapur: 3 (Narasappa Bhosale 41st; Ajay More 43rd; Sanket Masute 53rd).  

Round-1: Hockey Ahmednagar: 10 (Jai Shinde 5th; Ajinkya Nikalje 9th, 21st, 25th; Avinash Banagar 36th; Ashish Katraj 44th, 55th, 66th; Akash Delitkar 57th; Husen Tadvi 60th) bt Hockey Latur: 0; Hockey Jalgaon: 6 (Parag Tadvi 14th, 20th, 49th; Sharik Sayyed 15th; Aarif Shaikh 23rd; Mohsin Shaikh 25th) bt Hockey Nashik: 1 (Yashrak Khemnar 50th); Hockey Sangli: 1 (Rohit Kadam 36th) bt Hockey Amravati District: 0; Hockey Latur: 2 (Abhishek Mane 24th; Vinod Uphade 35th) bt Beed District Hockey Association: 1 (Pratham Angeer 23rd)