Pune: Aditya Samant Wins 18th Edition of Shri Maheshwaranand Saraswati Memorial Maharashtra Open Rapid Rating Chess Tournament 

Winner Aditya Samant with the trophy

Share this News:

Pune, 27th September 2021: FM Aditya Samant of Pune emerged winner at the 18th edition of Shri Maheshwaranand Saraswati Memorial Maharashtra Open Rapid Rating Chess Tournament organized by Buddhibal Kreeda Trust and played at Manohar Mangal Karyalay, Erandwane, Karve Road, Pune.

The 15-year-old Pune based player a 10th standard student of Abhinav English Medium School, Samant playing with white pieces opened with Kings Pawn drew upset IM Vikramaditya Kulkarni of Railways in 45 moves and ended the event with 8 points after 9th rounds.

The winner FM Aditya Samant received Rs. 15,000 and trophy, while the runner up FM Suyog Wagh received Rs. 10,000 and trophy. The Prizes were given away at the hands of Dr Satish Thigale, Director of Symbiosis Sports Center, Shekhar Jori, Joint Secretary of PDCC, Chandrakant Mokashi, Retd. General Manager of Kalyani Sharp. Prakash Kunte, trustee of Buddhibal Kreeda Trust, Rajendra Shidore were present on the occasion. 


Following are the results: 9th Round(White & Black):

FM Aditya Samant(Pune)(8pts) bt IM Vikramaditya Kukarni(RLY)(7pts);

Akash Dalvi(Thane)(7.5pts) bt IM Sameer Kathmale(Sangli)(6.5pts);

Aditya Bartakke(Thane)(6.5pts)lost to FM Suyog Wagh(Ahmednagar)(7.5pts);

Siddhant Gaikwad(Pune)(6.5pts)lost to Gaurav Zagade(Pune)(7.5pts);

WIM Akanksha Hagawane(Pune)(6.5pts)lost to Vedant Panesar(MumbaiSub)(7pts);

Nirgun Keval(Pune)(7pts) bt Pratik Gengaje(Raigad)(6pts);

Om Lamkane(Pune)(6.5pts) drew with Rishabh Gokhale(Pune)(6.5pts);

Devansh Shah(MumbaiSub)(6.5pts)drew with Nameet Chavan(Pune)(6.5pts);

Aanjaneya Phatak(Pune)(6.5pts)drew with Akhilesh Nagare(Ahmednagar)(6pts);

FM Kashish Jain(Pune)(6.5pts) bt CM Kush Bhagat(Mumbai)(5.5pts).

Winner with chief guest. Pune chess