Pune: Delivery Boys Arrested for Mobile Phone Heist at Flipkart Hub during Big Billion Day, 24 Phones Worth Rs 6 Lakh Recovered

Share this News:

Mubarak Ansari

Wakad, 27th November 2023: The officials from Wakad police station (Pimpri Chinchwad Police) have nabbed two delivery boys involved in the theft of mobile phones from the Flipkart hub. The stolen loot, consisting of 24 mobile phones with an estimated worth of Rs 6 lakhs, has been recovered.

The criminal activities came to light on November 18. The stolen items included 38 mobile phones valued at Rs 9 lakh 47 thousand 160, all ordered by online customers. The Wakad police registered a case under IPC 381, 34 based on a complaint filed by a 27-year-old woman working at Instacart Service, an online courier company.

The complainant detailed how the accused took advantage of the surge in online mobile phone purchases during the ‘Big Billion Day’ before Dussehra and Diwali. The stress on the courier company increased due to the influx of orders, providing an opportunity for Ashish Bhausaheb Bhosale (22), a delivery boy from Pimpri, and his accomplices to steal mobile phones from the company’s office.

Upon discovering the theft, the woman reported the incident to the Wakad police. Subsequent investigations led to the arrest of Bhosale and the detention of a minor accomplice, with eight mobile phones seized during the operation. During further investigation, police arrested their accomplice Piyush Govind Mohite (23) of Chikhali and recovered 16 mobile phones.

The action was taken under the guidance of Deputy Commissioner of Police (Zone-2) Dr. Kakasaheb Dole, ACP (Wakad Division) Dr Vishal Hire and Senior Police Inspector Ganesh Jawadwad. The team included Police Inspector (Crime) Vitthal Salunkhe, Assistant Police Inspector Santosh Patil, Police Sub-Inspector Sachin Chavan, ASI Bibhishan Kanherkar, Babajan Inamdar, Rajendra Kale, and police personnel Sandeep Gawari, Swapnil Khetle, Deepak Sable, Atish Jadhav, Pramod Kadam, Vandu Gire, Prashant Gilbeel, Atiq Sheikh, Vikrant Chavan, Ram Talpe, Ajay Phalle, Bhaskar Bharti, Swapnil Lokhande, Saudagar Lamture, Kauntey Kharade, Vinayak Gharge, Ramesh Khedkar and Sagar Pandit.