Pune: Drug dealer arrested in Viman Nagar, MD drug worth Rs 1.18 lakhs seized

Pune Police CP office
just pune things app
Share this News:

Viman Nagar, June 3, 2020: Pune City Police Commissioner Dr K Venkatesham had received complaints from some people about the smuggling of narcotic drugs near colleges and upscale residential areas of Pune city and he had ordered strict action from time to time.



Acting on a tip-off, sleuths from the anti-narcotics cell (ANC) and anti-extortion cell (AEC) (west region) nabbed criminal on police record Amjad Khan near Symbiosis College gate in Viman Nagar yesterday. Khan (44), a resident of Bhawani Peth, was riding a two-wheeler with his friend Tajender Palsingh Bagga (21) of Viman Nagar. During the search, police seized 12 gram Mephedrone (MD) drug, two mobile phones and Activa two-wheeler, totally worth Rs 1.18 lakhs.



Police officials said that during investigation Khan told them he was selling drugs to youngsters in Lohgaon, Vimannagar as well as school and college students. Now an FIR has been registered against the accused with Vimantal (Airport) police station for offences under relevant sections of the Narcotic Drugs and Psychotropic Substances (NDPS) Act. Khan is a notorious criminal in the police records. Four cases of possession and sale of narcotics have already been registered against him at different police stations.


Police Inspector Rajendra Mohite of the ANC said that they are investigating from where did they get the drugs and also to find out who are their other companions. A judicial magistrate court has remanded them to police custody till June 5. Police Sub Inspector Vijay Zanjad is further investigating the case.


Additional Commissioner of Police (crime) Ashok Morale, DCP (crime) Bachchan Singh, Assistant Commissioner of Police Shivaji Pawar guided the investigation team which included Police Sub Inspector Sanjay Gaikwad, ASI Prasad Mokashi, Head Constable Uday Kalbhor, Pandurang Wanjle, Hanumant Gaikwad, Feroz Bagwan, Vijay Gurav, Sunil Chikhale, Sandeep Sable, Amol Pilane, Mohan Yelpale and Rupali Karnawar.