Pune: Ruturaj Gaikwad From Pimpri-Chinchwad Selected For Indian Cricket Team

Share this News:

Pune/Mumbai, 11th June 2021: The Indian cricket team is scheduled to play limited-overs series on a tour of Sri Lanka next month. The committee of Indian selectors has announced the squad for the ODI and T20 series.

The team includes Ruturaj Gaikwad (21), a resident of Sangvi. Gaikwad is the first cricketer from Pimpri-Chinchwad to be picked for the national cricket team.

Ruturaj plays for Maharashtra in the Ranji Trophy matches and for Chennai Super Kings in the IPL.

Also Read BREAKING NEWS: Malls, Reading Rooms To Open In Pune, Business Hours For Shops And Restaurants Increased

Ruturaj said, “I am happy to represent the country. I will put in my best efforts on the big stage and do well for the country.”

Ruturaj’s father Dashrath Gaikwad has retired from DRDO as Super One class officer. He said, “The family is glad to hear Ruturaj’s selection for the Indian team. We are confident that he will perform well.”

Ruturaj has been with the Dilip Vengsarkar Academy located in Thergaon for 10 years now.

Sri Lanka Tour
The team has been announced with experienced opener Shikhar Dhawan as the captain while fast bowler Bhuvneshwar Kumar has been made the vice-captain.

Kuldeep Yadav, who will be out of the Test team, remains in the limited-overs series. With this, Nitish Rana, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj and Chetan Sakaria have been included in the team for the first time. The first ODI of the three-match ODI series will be played on July 13 while the final T20 match will be played on July 25. All matches will be played in the same venue at Colombo’s R Premadasa Stadium.

Also Read Tourist Places Not Open Yet In Pune District, Police Taking Action Against Those Visiting Lonavala, Mulshi

The Indian team for the tour of Sri Lanka – Shikhar Dhawan (Captain), Prithvi Shaw, Devdutt Padikkal, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Suryakumar Yadav, Manish Pandey, Hardik Pandya, Nitish Rana, Ishan Kishan (wicketkeeper), Sanju Samson (wicketkeeper), Yuzvendra Chahal, Rahul Chahar, Krishnappa Gautam, Krunal Pandya, Kuldeep Yadav, Varun Chakravarthy, Bhuvneshwar Kumar (vice-captain), Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Chetan Sakaria.
Net bowlers – Ishan Porel, Sandeep Warrier, Arshdeep Singh, Sai Kishore, Simranjit Singh.

Join our WhatsApp GroupTelegram, and Twitter for every update about Pune and PCMC