Pune: Sinhagad Road Police Recovers Stolen Autorickshaw And Three Bikes From Vehicle Thief

Share this News:

Narhe, 25th January 2024: The officials from Sinhagad Road Police Station, Pune City Police, have arrested a man involved in vehicle thefts and recovered an auorickshaw and three two-wheelers.

The arrested was made based on information received by police personnel Aba Uttekar and Raju Vegre. The accused has been identified as Prathamesh alias Babya Anil Hazare, a 30-year-old resident of Sinhagad Road, Pune.

The information about the theft was received two days ago, reporting the incident near Narhe. The suspect, described as a slim-built individual aged between 20 to 25 years, was seen stealing the rickshaw from the bus stop adjacent to Girija Family Restaurant. The policemen, acting on the tip, immediately informed Assistant Police Inspector Sachin Nikam, who subsequently reported to the Senior Police Inspector at the Sinhagad Road Police Station.

Upon confirming the information, the police team, led by Senior Police Inspector Abhay Mahajan and Police Inspector (Crime) Jayant Rajurkar, reached near Swami Narayan Temple, Narhe. Accused Hazare attempted to flee upon realizing the presence of the police. He was finally caught on January 20.

Hazare, now under arrest, faces charges under IPC Section 379 for the theft of a three-wheeler rickshaw. The investigation revealed his involvement in multiple crimes, including thefts recorded by the Sinhagad Road Police Station and Valsang Police Station in Solapur Rural.

Recovered from Hazare were stolen two-wheelers, along with a three-wheeler rickshaw and three motorcycles collectively worth Rs 1,85,000/-. The case is under further investigation by Assistant Police Inspector Sachin Nikam of the Sinhagad Road Police Station.

The investigation was conducted under the supervision of Additional Commissioner of Police (West Region) Pravin Kumar Patil, DCP (Zone-03), Sambhaji Kadam, and ACP (Sinhagad Road Division) Appasaheb Shewale.

The team included Assistant Police Inspector Sachin Nikam, Sub-Inspector Ganesh Mokashi, and police personnel Aba Uttekar, Sanjay Shinde, Raju Vegre, Deva Chavan, Vikas Bandal, Vikas Pandule, Shivaji Kshirsagar, Rahul Olekar, Sagar Shedge, Swapnil Magar, Amol Patil, Avinash Konde, and Daksh Patil.